My Wounds May Never Heal (III)

In case you missed the first and second episodes, please check here

Episode 1:  https://toyinfabs.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/my-wounds-may-never-heal/

Episode 2: https://toyinfabs.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/my-wounds-may-never-heal-ii/

I know a lot of people will skin me alive for not finishing this story today…..ejoor ooo, it’s just that the story seems to have a mind of it’s own, it keeps going on and on. But i promise, it will end on Friday. Thanks so much for reading.

imagesCAXRK8TT

I dropped the phone and placed a finger to my temple in a bid to stop the throbbing in my head. That didn’t go too well, I thought walking into the room. I had left the room so I wouldn’t disturb Atilola’s sleep. It was strange that she had never for once asked about her dad since we left the house. I wondered sometimes if that was healthy, but then I shouldn’t have been so surprised since Jimi had mostly treated her with cold indifference.
I looked around the one bedroom apartment I rented after leaving Mom’s place and a slight tremor went through me. I felt quite vulnerable and exposed and mentally made a note to change the locks to a much stronger one. There was something about my conversation with Jimi that was quite disturbing but I couldn’t place a finger on it. I wondered perhaps if it was the fact that he said he missed Atilola which I of course knew had to be a lie or how he readily agreed to sign the divorce papers.

I had been bracing for a fight and so wasted no time in telling him that since he was planning to marry another wife, he would need to divorce me or else he would be breaking the law and I would ensure he pays for it.

He had laughed mirthlessly at my words and there had been something chilling and unnerving about the laugh. He had also in the same breath told me that he was ready to let me go and would work something out soon. I was more particularly disturbed about the statement he made at the end of the call just when I was about hanging up. His words;

“Seni, I will like you to move on, don’t just stay holed up in your little flat watching soaps night after night, go out, date men and have fun. I have found love and I want you to do the same, you need someone, Surulere could be dangerous at night you know.”

Yeah, that was what bothered me in particular. I had questions: How he knew I never go out and that I lived in a tiny flat and why had he mentioned that part about Surulere being dangerous at night?
Could Jimi be stalking me or am I being paranoid? I wondered aloud trembling.

******
I walked towards the restaurant, looking over my back occasionally. I had started doing that in the days that followed the conversation I had with Jimi. I walked briskly eager to leave the underground Car-park for the relative safety of the restaurant. I was to meet Jimi and his wife to be that afternoon. He had set up the meeting through a text message he sent to my phone. He talked about how he was a changed man and that he would like us to have a friendly relationship for the sake of our daughter. He said he wanted to see me and that his woman will be there. He also said I should bring the papers.

I was wary about meeting Jimi but I was ready to take the risk if it meant he would sign the divorce papers.

I walked into the comfortable ambience of the restaurant and spotted Jimi and the lady almost immediately. She was beautiful, Jimi’s wife. She had a certain delicate beauty and looked like the kind of person that should have “fragile, please handle with care” pasted on her forehead. I hoped for her sake that Jimi had really changed.

******

Hello, good afternoon I said forcing a smile that I hoped reached my eyes. She stood up and hugged me warmly.

“My name is Banke”, she said in a voice that was as soft as freshly made Bread.

“Olaseni”, I replied forcing another smile.

Jimi sat there watching us with a sly grin on his face. It occurred to me that perhaps he hoped I would be jealous. Of course I should feel some resentment under normal circumstances because chances were this woman had probably been dating my husband while we were still living together.

I stretched my hands towards Jimi for a handshake and noticed a dark frown fall over his face for a second before he smiled saying;
“Seni, that’s no way to greet your husband, I insist on a hug dear.”
I moved close and allowed him to hug me.
We sat down and they both ordered some food while I insisted on taking just water. I really wanted to be done with what I came for and leave.

*****
“I know you are in quite a hurry, so I won’t take your time. But before anything I need to apologize.”

I shifted somewhat confused at the sincerity in Jimi’s eyes.

“I have had time to think about everything that happened between us and I realize I have wronged you so much. I am so sorry Seni, I really wish I can take everything I have done back but I know I can’t so I’m just going to ask for your forgiveness.”

I exhaled out loud, confused at the turn of things, I looked at both their faces; the lady had a funny expression of pity on her face which turned my confusion into irritation immediately.

“Jimi its okay” I managed to say. “I have forgiven you, if not I won’t be here.”

“Babe, we both know you are here just because of the divorce papers.”

“Well, you are right but I have forgiven you.”

“When I think of all those things that I did, hitting you and all, I feel so depressed and angry at myself, I keep wondering what kind of monster possessed me in those moments.”

I looked at his face again touched at the pain that was evident there. I saw the lady reach out and hold his hand and something constricted in my chest.

They look so good together I thought. I wondered in that moment if probably there was something about me that brought out the monster in him. Seeing as he looked relaxed and in love, I felt a wave of sadness and wondered why I couldn’t evoke that in him.

I felt like I could burst into tears but wanting to avoid that I told him yet again that I would be leaving soon and would like him to sign the papers. He told me he would do that but he wanted us to talk about visiting arrangements and how much he needed to pay me monthly for Atilola’s care. I thought that was funny considering he hadn’t even asked of his daughter since I entered the restaurant.

Just as I was about to point that out, he announced that we had to celebrate our letting the past go by drinking some Champagne. I decided to keep quiet, determined to go along with whatever he wanted to do so long as he signs.

He signaled for a waiter and made the order. We all waited in what seemed to be an uncomfortable silence. The waiter brought the champagne and Jimi asked him to open it. The waiter opened it and that was when it happened; suddenly and without any warning………..

To be concluded Friday 11/01/2013

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abdullahi Aborode
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 17:05:55

    Ghen ghen ghen gheun

    Reply

  2. Iyiola
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 17:58:37

    This is not fair o not fair at all!!!! Hian! Madam take time o! Ehen!

    Reply

  3. marvix
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 18:00:55

    Now u have gotten me hooked…….pls I pray thee for my sake let this end on friday can’t wait to see where this is going to…..thumbs up

    Reply

  4. Mag Fawibe
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 19:20:55

    OMG!!!! I bet people will not forgive U̶̲̥̅̊ if this suspense continues on Friday… U̶̲̥̅̊ better find a way to get into the mind of the story so u can control it…….. Nice piece darling aburo! We are always proud of U̶̲̥̅̊ babe!!

    Reply

  5. moji
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 19:28:34

    Just read the first two episodes and can’t wait to read d concluding part,nice story

    Reply

  6. tee
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 20:08:21

    You are not nice at all o. Haha! Temmy.

    Reply

  7. Anita
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 20:11:32

    You are really making it impossible for me to like you right now Toyin. EPISODE 4 PLEASE

    Reply

  8. ogunmuyiwa adenike
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 21:15:03

    This wait is d worst wait so far…..Friday pls fast forward.

    Reply

  9. 9jaBloke
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 23:34:28

    Kwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwa!! What a way to end this episode. You have all your readers by the suspense balls ,literarily. You can be sure l am also counting down to friday.

    Reply

  10. Adejumo, Solomon Aderemi
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 05:39:45

    Your writing contains all the ingredient of a great work. It is good that each episode is made as short as poossible and as easy to read as it can be. I encourage that you keep writing; non-stop, so you can shapen your writing ability. I enjoyed reading this piece like eating a delicacy of mini hamburger over a cup of strawberry smoothies. Thanks.

    Reply

  11. Bode
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 12:15:51

    Wow, what a cliffhanger…! I’ll have to be on the edge of my seat till friday. 😦

    Reply

  12. Trackback: My Wounds May Never Heal (IV) | Toyinfabs

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

Iconsnest's Blog

Love. Culture. Food

