Boarding Tales (Episode 1)

Hey guys, wrote this a while back and decided to share it now. It would be in episodes, each episode will come out on Mondays. It’s based on some of the shocking things that happen in some boarding schools in the country. Have fun and don’t judge Bosola too harshly.

dorm

The day I was to start boarding school, I woke up as early as 4.00 am, to say I was excited was an understatement. I had always admired boarding students and I was happy to become one even if the school was in a village. I got up from the bed, put on the lights and went through the things my mother packed for me. The box was filled to the brim, I fingered the tin of Milo, it was the biggest size; the one they call Baba Sala, I smiled contentedly, my mother had thought of almost everything. The one thing she didn’t think of and which she never would have thought of, I had packed myself.

We got to the school at about 4.oo pm despite having left Lagos before 7.00 am; this was to be expected considering the remoteness of my school. I was appalled at how rural the place was although I was quite fascinated by the mountainous terrain, I couldn’t understand why I had to go to a school so far away from Lagos when I could have gone to Queen’s college which was where all my friends and the children of my parent’s friends attended. But my Dad had spent over an hour extolling the virtues of this school going on and on about how they had disciplined teachers and bla bla bla.

****

Later that evening, I began unpacking my things; I noticed I was getting a lot of attention although I really wasn’t ready to talk to anybody. I might be in J.S.1 but I certainly didn’t see myself as a junior so you can imagine my surprise when I heard someone call ‘’last girl’’ I glanced towards the direction of the voice, the room was so jam-packed with bunks that you hardly had space to walk in between yet I saw a lot of students running towards the voice. I saw the owner of the voice thrust a bucket into one of the girl’s hands; that was when I understood what the running was about, the last girl had to carry out the errand. I returned to my unpacking forgetting the incident immediately.

I suddenly felt a jab on my forearm; I looked up to see who it was;

’’Senior Seeke is calling you’’ the girl that tapped me said.

“Who is senior Seeke’’? I asked

She is over there, the girl said, pointing, my eyes trailed her hand and saw she was pointing to the same lady I had seen earlier. I wasn’t through with my packing and had no intention of leaving where I was, I glanced at my Gold wrist watch, the one Dad had given me for my Thirteenth birthday, It was past 9.00pm. I sighed and shook my head; there was no way I was standing up till I finished unpacking I told myself silently.

The girl tapped me again, this time with a great sense of urgency, I was about to snap at her but stopped when I saw the fear in her eyes.

She leaned closer and whispered,

’’Please go and meet her before she gets angry. She likes slapping juniors and that is why we call her Slappy behind her back’’.

’’Really’’ I replied, ’’thousands of her are not fit to slap me’’!

’’Won o biire’’! she wouldn’t dare!

’’Just go and meet her’’ she insisted, I was kind of intrigued by the girl especially because of the fear I saw in her eyes,

’’I’m Bosola, What is your name’’? I asked ignoring her entreaties that I should go to slappy.

Before she could reply I heard a shout that scared me to the core;

’’Where is that new girl?

 I stood rooted to the same spot, the girl I was talking to had already scampered unto her bed on the next bunk.

In a movement that seemed more of a blur, Slappy came to where I was in front of me and said;

’’You this stupid junior, is it that you are deaf or dumb ehn? Why exactly have you not been replying me since’’?

I didn’t utter a word, I just kept looking into her eyes; she seemed unsettled by that and screamed;

’’Take your eyes off me, take your evil huge eyes off me, Oloju rangandan’’ she added

I lowered my eyes and smiled smugly, that was the first time my eyes were being referred to as evil, all my life I have heard them called only flattering names, my father called me eleyinju ege, and Folasayo my boyfriend when I was in Primary 4 had always referred to me as Oloju ede. Even my mother with all her bickering had nothing but praise for my eyes calling me Oju wunmi.

I looked up at the senior in front of me again, this human being they call Slappy calling my eyes; the most beautiful thing in my body apart from my boobs and bum evil and I smiled my most evil smile revealing my perfect set of teeth. The next thing that happened shocked me beyond anything I ever thought of, I felt a stinging slap on my face, I saw stars but immediately raised my hand and without thinking slapped her back, she paused as if in shock and before I knew it  I was surrounded by a horde of seniors. They were all shouting on top of their voices, cursing and panting, I saw some other girls which I guessed must be juniors rushing to climb their beds, they didn’t want to be accused of being a part of the “sacrilege’’ I seemed to have committed. I was asked to do every form of punishment they could think of, I was thereafter given ten strokes of the cane on a single palm; this was administered personally by Slappy. Throughout everything I made sure I didn’t shed a single tear.

When they finally released me I went back to my cupboard, arranged my provisions, made up my bed, and settled down to sleep. I laid there quietly mulling over the events of my first day in school, I could still hear Slappy’s voice abusing me with adjectives I have never heard of, I promised myself quietly that she was going to pay, I didn’t care what it would cost me. I lay there quietly and started my favourite past time, I put my hands in my night dress, cupped my breasts and squeezed them, they were full and heavy to the touch, I ran my unhurt hand over my stomach, it was flatter than a chalk board and sighed proud of my body. I knew just how to make all of them pay. I stood up energised and picked my sewing kit and house wears.

photo credit:google images

 

Meaning of Some Terms

 

Oloju Rangandan: The one with oversized eyes

Eleyinju ege: The one with graceful eyes

Oloju ede: Eyes as beautiful as that of the crayfish

Oju wunmi: The one that makes one covet huge eyeballs

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abdullahi Aborode
    Feb 23, 2013 @ 21:40:08

    I’m so looking forward to this…kudos Toyin!

    Reply

  2. Tolu
    Feb 23, 2013 @ 21:56:37

    Female version of Ibro I guess….lmao

    Reply

  3. Aje Mofifunoluwa Rosemary
    Feb 23, 2013 @ 21:56:54

    Very 9c.

    Reply

  4. uzed
    Feb 23, 2013 @ 22:04:38

    Ahan now! Toyin complete it oooo

    Reply

  5. Olumide
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 10:26:59

    Well-written again MsFabs!

    Reply

  6. dazeetah
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 10:37:28

    Hmmm..interesting… Just like Toyin to put us in this suspense.

    Reply

  7. Iyiola
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 11:29:46

    Hmm. Ms Fab, I’m keeping an eye on this space. Kudos, girl!

    Reply

  8. OkunadeGoodMan
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 14:23:08

    Hmmm… I guess Bosola and Ibro(aaaborode’s blog) attended the same primary school. Leggooo….

    Reply

  9. John Karik
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 17:23:07

    Nice piece. Just thought that the Yoruba phrases could be explained further in a perenthesis for easy understanding of the story since its international

    Reply

  10. Kenny Ajanius
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 17:39:50

    Nice one! Toyin, keep it up. God will grant U more wisdom & knowledge. Great!!!

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Boarding Tales (Episode II) | Toyinfabs
  12. 'Deolu
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 22:35:10

    Quite ɑ tasty tale to sum up the day! Simple, precise and articulate, I say thanks for the knack, it will speak someday!

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Boarding Tales (Episode III) | Toyinfabs
  14. abe temitope
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 12:21:15

    Ise opolo!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

