Open Letter To Momma By Egbeyemi Omorilewa

mum

Dear Maami,

Aina orosun; alapepe eja. Aya rere lodeh oko. Iya rere lodeh omo. I know you care very much. You’re the one person who has had the greatest influence on me. You’re the person I admire the most. You are the one person that keeps me going.

You have demonstrated grace, intelligence, integrity, and hard work. Despite the fact that I could eat seven times daily, I trust *iya nophy* to always cater for my unending needs. I would close my eyes and fall sometimes, because I knew mummy would be there to catch me. I would pretend to be sick whenever I was jealous of her spending more time with my siblings. Kindness is not just a word with you, it is a way of life. Your life is not gauged by what you have, but rather, it is gauged by what you give. And you have given so much.

I can’t possibly name of all the things you’ve given me, but the single greatest gift you’ve given me is your time. I also remember all those wonderful meals you usually prepare. Ebirikpo, ifokore, imoyo, iyan…... You’ve demonstrated that time is the most precious thing one person can give to another. It is your time with me that has been the biggest influence of all. Time can never be replaced. It is priceless.

When I was still an omokekere, you kept tabs on me and nobody could hurt me. Being called omo-mummy always gave me the best feeling of all time. You helped me build confidence in myself. You thought me I could be the best. You thought me to be disciplined. You thought me to be close to my GOD. You were a Den Mother for me and my siblings. You taught me so many things I can’t start to list now. You read books to me, helped me with my home work, and made me do my chores. (I appreciate that more now than I did then.)

My scrapes and bruises always felt better after you kissed them. You always provided a shoulder for my tears. You chastised me when I needed it, and you praised me sometimes when I didn’t deserve it. You helped me achieve things I never thought I could. No one can replace the time you shared with me. You are truly an amazing woman. Though we often fight, but I trust you to apologize even if I was wrong. And you often do that with two meat pieces on my food at night.(YaaAaaay)

Baby mii! My love for you is timeless.. For in your arms I found comfort, in your heart I found a gold mine, in your smile I found my sunshine, in your eyes I found my stars……… I would always be there for you mummy. Remember that day I stole two meat pieces in the pot? Lmao

Love Always,
Your Son, Ajumobiokotanu

 

 

The writer is on twitter as @iam9jeria

photo credit: google images

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. temitayo
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 18:08:00

    A nice write for a good and worthy mothher.

    Reply

  2. hacolyte
    May 23, 2013 @ 19:15:57

    Reblogged this on hacolyte's Blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

Iconsnest's Blog

Love. Culture. Food

