Boarding Tales (Episode V)

Please find previous episodes here

african_girl_by_dsart972-d5l5o8d

“Who is Alaye?” I asked glancing towards the door. I gasped at what I saw, I had my answer and it filled the door way.

He was tall, fair and handsome; I knew he couldn’t be a student because he looked like someone in his late twenties or early thirties. The long cane in his hands was what grabbed my attention the most; it was long, thick and still green as if he had cut it from a tree on the way to the classroom. A teacher I thought, my heart thumping wildly.

 “Baba niyen”! Toluse hailed as the man walked in.

He glanced at me and I felt heat, I lowered my eyes and greeted him

“Good evening sir”, I said

“Are you a new student”?

“Yes, I got in yesterday”

“You are welcome dear” he said

He then thumped Toluse in the chest and said;

“Were ni iwo bobo yi oooo, girl wey just come, you don carry am like that, ehn”?

Toluse laughed heartily, weighing his crotch in his hands in that annoyingly absent manner that most guys have and said;

“Oga, ele ni omo yi now, she is too fine”.

The man drew Toluse aside and I could hear them whispering, I couldn’t make out their words but Toluse kept laughing like he had won a million dollars and the man kept hailing Toluse intermittently, saying “omo oshi, omokomo, iwo laye eee

The guy later left and I was left with Toluse,

“Who is he”?

“He is the housemaster”

“Okay, for your hostel?”

“No, for both hostels”

“He is the housemaster for the girls too? I thought it was the woman we met when Dad and I got in yesterday.”

“He is the housemaster, he travelled on Friday and must have gotten back today, I’m sure the woman you met must have been the proprietor” wife.”

“Really, why did the other students run since you didn’t leave?

“He would have punished them if he saw them here”

“But he didn’t punish you; in fact you guys spoke like friends”

“Yeah, he can’t because we are buddies, my friends and I organise babes for him, we take him out and buy Suya, Asun and drinks for him and we also give him money from time to time so we are more or less like friends”.

“I see”, I replied

I was beginning to understand exactly how the joke of a school operated, I almost felt sorry for my parents; they had thought taking me to a boarding school was a good decision, but obviously no one told them the school they were taking me to was an annex of Sodom and Gomorrah.

Standing up he said; ”let’s go to your hostel, I need to have a word with Seeke. I will talk to her and I’m sure she will let you be”

”She will really do that?”

”Don’t worry she will.”

*****

Toluse took me to an empty class beside the hostel saying he needed to go to the hostel to talk to his friends, it was the same class where I hid earlier in the day, he  told me to wait for him there and not come out until he said so. I walked to wooden window that had a peeping hole and once again I had a clear view of the front of the female hostel. I saw Slappy and her friends almost immediately. They were lying on a mattress spread in front of the hostel. There were some juniors lined up in front of them. One of them was singing and the others were asked to come forward one by one into a circle drawn on the floor. Each junior would dance for about a minute and would go back to the line. If they feel a particular junior didn’t dance well enough they would tell her to kneel on the sand.

They were so engrossed in their game that they didn’t see Toluse and his friends walk up to the hostel until he cleared his throat.

Slappy was the first to react standing up immediately she saw them;

‘’Yes, what do you guys want here…….eyin were, ki le fe?

“Seeke na me be were abi? I go wound you ehn, I go wound you” he said drawing her close by the front of her hostel wear.

I saw the ranks form almost immediately; Toluse’s friends on one side and Seeke’s gang of five on another side, Toluse dragged Seeke into the middle and released his hold on her dress.

“I’m not beating you today; I only came to warn you to allow Bosola to have peace.”

Slappy screamed at him thumping him in the chest;

“You think you can talk to me anyhow because of a junior girl ehn? I will show you in this school, you this useless dog”

Tears streamed down her face as she spoke and I watched amused.

“Bosola you are evil” I told myself snickering

“If you touch my body again I will slap you”, Toluse said, staring at Slappy’s hands as if they were leprous.

“You can’t do anything to her”, one of Slappy’s friend said

Toluse pushed Slappy away and moved towards the girl that spoke, she however ran away; causing some sniggers from the junior girls that had gathered under the Mango tree in front of the hostel. I saw one of the seniors round up the junior girls that came out to watch, she told them to move aside and start walking on their knees.

“Ouch”! I muttered under my breath, glancing at my fresh and scar free knee, nobody would ever make me do that I vowed.

I went back to my peeping hole.  Toluse was saying something and he looked stern, Slappy had moved to where her friends were; her stance defiant.

“…………….If any of you touches that girl or send her on an errand, I will organise junior boys to disgrace you and I mean it”. I saw one of Slappy’s friend shiver so slightly.

“If you think this is a joke, try me” he added gesturing for his friends to wait for him. He left as the group of senior girls watched on. I sat down on a chair wondering how I would be able to show my face in the hostel.

Toluse walked to the classroom where I was and knocked at the outer window of the class. I walked out to meet him and he took me to the front of the hostel.

“Go in” he said simply. I  entered the dormitory but stood in the doorway, I wanted to see the rest of the drama.

Turning to Slappy and her friends he said;

“If any of you wants to be stripped naked by junior boys touch that girl”

 I watched him as he walked away pride filling my heart along with the fear that they might not be moved by Toluse’s threats.

They started screaming as he joined his friends and they walked towards their hostel, it was funny considering most of them had kept quiet when the boys were around.

Koseese ooo…it is not possible”

“Nobody can come to the girls’ hostel and tell us how to handle our juniors”

Awon Oloriburuku  ill fated and godforsaken human beings…………………….”

The curses went on and on, some of them were for me, they had names for me too, names that ranged from a prostitute to a dog. Shaking slightly I walked to my bunk and climbed it, I couldn’t sleep, I wanted to be awake if and when they come for me……

Till next Monday

photo credit: google images

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jesuseun adeniji-folasire
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 05:54:59

    hmn. Alaye indeed!

    Reply

  2. @IamAyomiDotun
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 06:47:11

    This is not an hostel… Maybe a brothel or hell-hole. The battle line has been drawn, and when two elephants (Toluse & Seeke) fight, the grass (juniors) will suffer!!!

    Well done.

    Reply

  3. hassan
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 07:08:02

    Lmao annex of sodom and gomorrah….This is just the begining…thums up.

    Reply

  4. gbengaosowe1
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 07:33:34

    There are actually schools like this! T-babe, we await the next sequel

    Reply

  5. olumidefabunmi
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 09:12:15

    Annex of sodom and gomorah……..indeed dis is getting hot up but dis suspence is two much

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 09:38:15

    Ok pls fabulous babe finish this story already. Cnt hold it in anymore. You know that ‘i’m pressed’ feeling?

    Reply

  7. fabunmi tolani
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 12:33:13

    Evan exams can’t stop me from reading this. The story is getting more interesting. KEep up the good work sis

    Reply

  8. abe temitope
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 13:18:39

    Now i cant wait till next monday!!!

    Reply

  9. G
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 17:58:30

    This is a good read! Brilliant stuff!

    Reply

  10. bukola
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 19:43:27

    This is very interesting dear, always waiting patiently for the next episode. It remind me of those days when am in boarding school more grace to your elbow.

    Reply

  11. tyt!
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 21:51:31

    Lmao ! I’ll finish d story for ya’ll dat can’t wait til mon !lolZzzzz

    Reply

  12. John Karik
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 21:57:35

    Nice write up. U r truly, a story teller!!!

    Reply

  13. Aziz
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 13:52:40

    Madam Toyin! Biko. Abeg, give us season 6. Pleaseeee.

    Reply

  14. Michael Kors Bags
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 12:35:38

    I delight in, lead to I discovered just what I was having a look for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

    Reply

  15. Anonymous
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 06:51:47

    Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and wonderful design and style.

    Reply

  16. Anonymous
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 08:39:44

    Great post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Appreciate it!

    Reply

  17. ebun.olatunde@gmail.com
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 19:59:28

    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless handheld from Glo Mobile.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

Iconsnest's Blog

Love. Culture. Food

