Deep from within (POETRY) By ‘Lanre Bucknor

SaidiRay-Tr_Art-1

I have since lost all forms of inspiration
I seem to have lost a sense of appellation
To talk about the state of my nation
To the dogs—goes my appreciation

We have left every endeavour to pray
Yet, our leaders see us as common prey
“Pray!” The clerics keeps telling us to pray
Over matters we have little or no say

In my country, hard work does not pay
Corruption thrives in the glare of day
Anchored by the infidel husband of the dame
Without fear, without a drop of shame

A hundred food with only one sauce
Retards basking in the joy of our funeral
A hundred fools with just one source
Bastards made rich by the evil general

Cry! O cry, my beloved Village
Cry! O farmlands that lack tillage
For I have lost all strength to engage
To talk, to walk and to calculate

To talk the walk, to fork the pork
Of those who vowed to plunge us deep
Deep down, deep low, deep within
Skydiving us to a bottomless abyss

The pen is mightier than the sword they say
Yet, I am left with no choice—but to pray
What happened to my pen? I can’t say
Appreciation is for the almighty, I say

‘Lanre Bucknor
I remain @lordrooz on twitter

photo credit: google images

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kirvyn
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 10:38:42

    9c one bro, keep up d gud work.

    Reply

  2. Chike Chukudebelu
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 10:53:26

    Excellent poem, but the line “infidel husband and dame”, was it necessary?

    Reply

    • Qosim
      Apr 01, 2013 @ 14:14:54

      No it wasn’t! It was just a suitable expression of what the poet felt or his percept about the persona.

      Reply

  3. bobolawal
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 12:08:35

    A conscious, Succint and lyrical poem
    I imagine the string of a tom tom resonating
    To the words. It depicts the sad state of our nation but offers no solution

    Reply

  4. Qosim
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 14:12:34

    Nice piece; though I wanted more lines as I scrolled down. More power to your elbow!

    Reply

  5. Ruth Olurounbi
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 17:26:47

    Nice. Moving. Fluid.

    Reply

  6. lanre
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 20:43:33

    Nix one bruv.i luv dis.

    Reply

  7. oscarpoems
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 14:13:16

    Lanre you just did what I have been avoiding. The sad state of the nation is too much pain to bear already. Keep doing what you do as long as it relives you of the hypertension inducing country we live in. I don’t know how, I still know of a truth that WE SHALL OVERCOME.

    Reply

  8. st9ja
    May 14, 2013 @ 23:35:31

    I like this, the line about the infidel husband and dame is allusion. Could you consider removing one of the Pray! In line 7? Also A hundred food with only one sauce sounds incorrect. Excellent concept.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

Iconsnest's Blog

Love. Culture. Food

