Boarding Tales (Episode IX)

 bosola

“Bosola Adesegun, Yewande Olutola, come out here now.”

My heart skipped a beat and I glanced furtively towards Yewande’s bunk. She was brushing her hair seemingly oblivious of the problem at hand. I swallowed hard still contemplating whether to go outside to meet Mr Adisa or simply hide under the bed.

“If I have to call you girls the third time, I would come inside to drag both of you out .” I glanced around taking in the several pairs of eyes that were alternating between Yewande and I and decided to leave the room.

I walked out of the dormitory listening to the platter of several feet following me.

“Kneel down there,” he said as soon as I stepped outside

Yewande Olu……..

Yewande walked out before he could finish calling her name and without a word leaned on a pole in front of the hostel, I looked at Mr Adisa expecting him to ask her to kneel down too but he acted as if he didn’t see the defiant stance of Yewande and just asked us both to follow him.

I knew without doubt that our offence would have something to do with our disappearance the previous evening.

“Who could have reported us?” My mind went to Slappy, “it would be a good way to revenge, wouldn’t it?” I mused. I also thought of Toluse and wondered if someone had told him I didn’t spend the night in the school. “Can Toluse be vindictive enough to report me?”

My fear increased when I realized we were heading for the principal’s office. We entered the office and I saw the principal. He was dressed in a white Jalabia, he was unshaven and his pupils were red. “Okay, this is really serious.” I thought. The principal visited the school once in three months and he had been around the previous day so I knew whatever it was that brought him must be very grievous.

He ignored our chorused “good morning sir” and pointed directly at us;

“So where did you young ladies sleep last night?”

“In our dormitory sir,” Yewande replied

You, you ehn,” the principal said pointing a finger menacingly at Yewande, “you just resumed from suspension and you have started again. I will teach you a great lesson this time around, I promise you.”

“Now what is your name?” he asked turning towards me

“Bosola.”

“Bosola kini?”

“Bosola Adesegun”

“Bosola Adesegun, I understand you are a new student and you just joined us in this secomd term. I know you won’t want to disappoint your parents so I want you to reply me truthfully, where did you girls spend the night?”

I turned towards Yewande and replied in a shaky voice; “Where she said we did sir”.

“Where she said?”

“Are you okay?”

“Do you think this is a joke?” The principal bellowed

“No sir, it’s the truth sir, we slept in the dormitory.”

“Can you get your room mates to testify to that?”

“Sir, everyone hates me, no one will testify in my favor”

“Okay, since you girls have no truth in you I will have to show you this.”

He handed a printout to each of us. I glanced at Mr Adisa irritated at the look of righteous indignation plastered on his face.

I read the e-mail, re read it and glanced at Yewande, there was a bored look on her face as if she couldn’t care less. My mind was in a turmoil and I kept imagining what my mum’s reaction would be  if she heard about what just happened. But first I wanted to slap Yewande, she was supposed to be the more experienced and smarter one between us, yet she was the one who made the dumb mistake of leaving her prefect tag in the guys’ apartment.

“Sir, I don’t know anything about the missing items”, I said turning to the principal

“Young lady, I don’t understand you, are you finally admitting that you didn’t sleep in your dormitory last night?”

“Yes sir, we didn’t sleep in the school.”

I realized it was useless to continue lying, the e-mail had all the evidence they needed, Yewande had forgotten her prefect tag in Sylvester’s room. The tag had her name, and the school’s name printed boldly on it so it.  Yewande hadn’t been the only stupid one. I had also made the mistake of allowing Kolade to take a picture of me lying on his bed wearing nothing but one of his t-shirts. That was the picture I was certain would kill my mum if she saw it. They had included a photograph of Yewande’s tag and also my picture in the e-mail they sent.

“Yewande is that true?”

“It is true sir, we slept in those guys’ place. I spent the night with one; she spent the night with the other guy. That’s all.”

“That’s all? How can that be all?  ”What about the missing cash and novels?”

“Did you read what those guys called this school? They called my own school a training ground for prostitutes. That’s what they called you girls and I am tempted to agree.”

“Which of one of you stole their =N=2,000 and novels?”

“I didn’t take anything sir,” I replied in a trembling voice

I honestly wanted to disappear; this is something to be ashamed about Bosola I told myself. I could live with being called a prostitute but a thief was unthinkable.

“Adisa, take them both back to the hostel and search their belongings very well. I worked hard to build this school to the great standard that we boast of today. I won’t allow these stupid children to ruin my work.

 

*****

Mr Adisa led the way back to the hostel, he announced at the entrance of the hostel that he was about to come in, he gave the girls five minutes and then entered the dormitory.

“This is really a day for standards” I mused; usually Mr Adisa would barge into the female dormitories anytime he felt like. Sometimes during siesta, he would even walk around the bunks and kiss some of the female students on the lips.

We entered and I went straight to my bunk, the occupants of the room watched on. There were lots of mutterings and hissing and somehow I guessed they had gotten wind of what happened. I watched disinterestedly as Slappy approached and told Mr Adisa that she would love to help with the search. They searched all my belongings and even almost ripped the mattress out but they didn’t find anything.

“I and some other seniors can take her to the bathroom and search her body,” Slappy suggested

“Don’t bother with that yet”, Mr Adisa replied

Mr Adisa, Slappy and her team moved towards Yewande’s bunk and searched her things as thoroughly as they had did mine. I stood by watching as they searched, I noted the sweat beads that had formed on Mr Adisa’s head and wondered about why it was so easy for him to switch back and forth between being a responsible teacher and an irresponsible one.                                                                    

“Take them to the bathroom and search them” Mr Adisa ordered after searching Yewande’s stuff for over thirty minutes and not finding any of the missing items.

 “Slappy must be pissing in her pants from ecstatic joy”. I thought looking at the wide grin on her face.

photo credit: google images

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. olabisi
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 13:12:58

    Gettin hotter

    Reply

  2. Yesdo
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 13:18:43

    Increasd heart beat*

    Reply

  3. Abdullahi Aborode
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 14:34:08

    Brilliant

    Reply

  4. monebi modupe
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 15:20:44

    toyin,ko da o.who come steal d iteams now.ghen ghen

    Reply

  5. olumidefabunmi
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 15:33:41

    Ghen ghen…y you stop dia naw..ah!!!

    Reply

  6. abe temitope
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 15:45:04

    Very short again!!!! Oh!!!!! Anoda 7days again.
    Good job anyway!!!!

    Reply

  7. c
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 16:17:29

    Please take a look at this sentence again and correct the error there.
    “Mr Adisa, Slappy and her team moved towards
    Yewande’s bunk and searched her things as
    thoroughly as they had did mine, but still they
    didn’t find a
    thing.”

    Reply

  8. Nonye
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 08:45:26

    Pls finish this story once & for all haba, which one is this monday mornings punishment? Pls. I beg u oh!

    Reply

  9. degreatest2
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 17:52:11

    And Slappy is winning!!!

    Reply

  10. omoyelu
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 18:02:12

    Nice 1 finish up now…..

    Reply

  11. persiux5
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 18:41:00

    I have read this story the umptenth time. Cant help myself. Really enjoy your imaginations

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

