LET’s TALK ABOUT SONGS – Osowe Oluwagbenga @gbengaosowe

 

song

 

Let’s talk about songs,

Lyrically waxed intelligent or not,

Life’s messages mapped unto beats and rhythms

Love’s sonnets arranged into soul-enriching tunes

Lullabies, sending little ones to the lands where no worries exist,

Loud, ear-assaulting, intelligence defying, peace- eroding cacophonies

Let’s talk about songs, meaningful or not

 

Let’s reminisce about Commander Obey, a philosopher, teacher

Lyrics from him taught me that seeking to please all is the key to failure,

Lessons from the father, son and donkey, I’d never forget while on earth’s soil I traverse

The Elegant stallion preaching unity and love with words so tender,

The importance of abstinence and faithfulness, Oh! What a masterpiece,

The sweetly sung duet with the Ondo-born king of World beats, a classic, never forgotten

If you love me, wait for me” a song for a lifetime

The sweet voice of the elegant stallion looking into the king of world beats

 

My emotions are taking over; maybe I should stop here, lest I cry

Why should Christy, the lady of songs die so young?

Which child of that generation did not want to do well and be the father’s pride?

What should I say of Funmi Adams, teaching me the importance of education?

 “Bata re a dun ko ko ka” plays in my brain at the sight of a female banker in high heeled shoes,

Thank God, they listened to Mike Okri, not spending their time in school on “dodo ati raisi”.
 Let’s talk about tongolo, whatever that means, only the kokomaster knows,

Who’s Tony Montana? An actor, singer, dancer, what? Never mind Naeto C is badder than him

Booty shaking videos, weed promoting songs are all I see on my TV, be it local or terrestrial

So I ask myself what becomes of the next generation,

If music be the food of the soul, so what are these young ones eating?

Junks or balanced diet, I leave you to be the judge

Let’s think about this and let’s talk about songs.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ezitonye Peace
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 16:31:34

    if music is d food of love?we are certainly eating constipation inducing morsels.God save our bellies.Great piece.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

