Why I said Yes

madeforeachother

So after he proposed, and I said yes, he sighed and said;

“Tilewa, I have some questions for you to answer”.

I looked at my fourth finger and sighed;

I just got engaged to the man and he has started questioning me.

What’s he about to ask now? I mused.

‘‘I hope he is not going to ask me how many men I have slept with, or if I have ever been pregnant.’’ I stylishly put my left hand behind me. ‘‘There is no way he will get this beautiful ring back.’’ I decided

And then he started…

“Tilewa, why did you say yes”?

I sighed inwardly once again, what kind of JAMB question is this one now I asked myself. I smiled at him ready to tell him it was only because I loved him so much. I however decided to be honest.

‘‘Timi, I accepted your proposal for the following reasons’’;

  1. I am honest to GOD tired of living with my parents.
  2. I haven’t gotten any other offer yet and I will soon be 29.
  3. I am tired of my sister telling me what and what not to touch in her house. I want to be a madam of my own house too.
  4. I really want to stop hearing my mum nag about how a part of the house wasn’t properly cleaned.
  5. I think it’s time to have my wedding pictures on Bella Naija too
  6. I also said yes because I love the ring,

‘‘I couldn’t say no to such a ring’’, I concluded grinning oblivious to the shocked expression on his face.

He stood up and left the room without a word.

I watched him leave wondering why people hated to hear the truth. I made myself comfortable and looked for a perfect angle for the proposal picture, the one I was about to shock the social media world with. My stalkers revealed themselves when barely a second after I posted it on BBM and facebook, the comments began.

“Oh babe congrats”

“I’m so happy for you”                       

“When is the wedding”?

I responded to the first person with “thanks hun” and copied it; it was to be the standard response to everyone.

*****

I relaxed on Timi’s bed and changed the channel to Sound City, One of the problems I was sure our marriage was going to have will be Timi’s preoccupation with Universal Channel and the boring series they keep doing. I was having fun but kept feeling as if something was missing, after a full hour and there was still no sign of Timi, I sighed and picked my phone, he picked on the first ring.

“Hi baby”

“Tilewa”, he said simply

“Baby, are you pissed at what I said”?

 “Hmm”, he replied

“You know without any doubt that I want to be with you but for now those are my reasons”

‘‘Love grows with time. You know that right?”

“You know that baby, don’t you?”

He didn’t respond so I said;

“Please come home, so we can talk better”

“Outside the house already”

At that, I dropped the call and heard the front gate open and close almost immediately

He walked into the room and I met him with a hug

He hugged me back a little loosely.

“This is kinda crazy; we should be celebrating the proposal” I told him holding him closer.

‘‘Hold on a minute Tile, I think I should also tell you why I proposed marriage to you.’’

  1. I am tired of going to bed hungry on most nights
  2. I felt with all these sexually transmitted diseases around it will be better to put one woman in the house and get it free and constant.
  3. Mum would not let me rest, she keeps asking for grandkids
  4. I chose you out of all others because you are the only one with a well paying job

‘‘Is this a joke Timilehin? Where is love in all of these things you have said?’’

‘‘Well, I didn’t see love in any of those things you said too.’’

‘‘Its okay then, but I have to say this. You are going to be very miserable in this marriage if it ever happens.’’

  1. I don’t like cooking and marriage won’t make me like it
  2. Who says I won’t be sleeping with other men?
  3. I don’t intend to have kids for the next five years, so your mom has five more years to disturb you.
  4. I would be the only one to spend my money. The best I can do is borrowing you some which will be collected back by any means possible.

‘‘Babe you are a clown’’, Timilehin said frowning.

‘‘Bobo you are a dunce.’’ I replied drawing my sandals out from under his bed.

He sat on the bed fiddling with his wristwatch and then said; ‘‘Tile, since we have both realized we are not ready can I have my ring back?’’

‘‘No, you can’t have it back, what do you want me to tell my friends who have already seen it on blackberry messenger and facebook?’’

‘‘You can tell them it got missing, just get creative.’’

‘‘No Timilehin, I would have to borrow this for a while and after some time I can tell them you dropped dead and return it to you.’’

‘‘I dropped dead? What sort of nonsense is that?

‘‘Bye Timilehin.’’ I said moving to the door of his one room apartment.

‘‘How about a good bye kiss and errm, err….?’’ He asked scratching his head.

black_love_art_4~~element493

‘‘I can do that.’’ I replied dropping my bag on the rugged floor and heading towards  him.

 

images credit: google images

86 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abiola Oyeniran
    May 11, 2013 @ 08:25:52

    Toyin want to kee person with laugh…..LOL

    Reply

  2. damstylee
    May 11, 2013 @ 09:03:00

    lol…

    Reply

  3. moskeda
    May 11, 2013 @ 09:18:55

    they are both crazy. But the reasons are genuine na. Isn’t it why people marry these days? And then love could grow with time…or not

    Reply

  4. Mark Amaza
    May 11, 2013 @ 09:21:44

    LMAO!!! They are perfect for each other

    Reply

  5. G
    May 11, 2013 @ 09:35:45

    Lmao!! Marriage sef!! It is overrated jare…..my fiancée must not hear this though 🙂

    Reply

    • toyinfabs
      May 11, 2013 @ 09:53:44

      I don’t think marriage is overrated though. It’s just that God should help us. It’s a decision really being determined to love someone come what may.

      Reply

  6. Ebun Oluwole
    May 11, 2013 @ 09:36:11

    LMAO! I love this

    Reply

  7. zeenike
    May 11, 2013 @ 09:42:05

    And there we have the real reason most people get married. And also the reason why one should wait a day or two before posting pics of the ring on BBM and FB, village witches manifest in many ways.

    Reply

  8. Tomisin Ajiboye
    May 11, 2013 @ 09:46:22

    This is rather a serious truth. It is not funny at all. These are rather the reasons why we propose most time. This is a deep call.

    Reply

  9. dazeetah
    May 11, 2013 @ 10:00:08

    They are both crazy, honest, in love and perfect for eachother. Acted like persons who knew themselves too well:) Toyin, u are brilliant!

    Reply

  10. Kunbi
    May 11, 2013 @ 10:01:11

    They should so get married. They are a perfect fit. I would like to see the ring. hehe

    Reply

  11. Tunji Ogundijo
    May 11, 2013 @ 10:21:20

    Strange but so damn true. Only if people will go to marriage because of love and the desire to be with their partners. A well done job sis.

    Reply

  12. 'Lara
    May 11, 2013 @ 10:23:49

    Nice one, I enjoyed reading this…

    Reply

  13. st9ja
    May 11, 2013 @ 11:51:34

    Girl, you get better each day . Excellent.

    Reply

  14. spacyzuma
    May 11, 2013 @ 11:54:24

    LMAO!!! This story is funny, and I can’t stop grinning.

    It does prove several points, though. Honesty and truth, while bitter, should clear doubts and save time and future hurt.

    About proposals…I usually imagine my proposal to be a long, kinda business-like chat with the lady. None of that romantic ish of sudden proposals. More like: “Baby, I like you and want to marry you. These are my reasons. And these are the reasons why I believe you should marry me. Now tell me your corresponding reasons on my you accept/reject this proposal.” 😀 *covers face*

    Kudos again on the story, Toyinfabs. I’m sharing this to as many people as I can. Thanks for brightening my Saturday a bit. +1

    Reply

    • toyinfabs
      May 11, 2013 @ 12:02:42

      Hmm, I think those are the best proposals though, making it like a discussion. Letting the person know your reasons and being honest about who you are. I’m glad you like it and also glad that you want to share. Thanks

      Reply

  15. thirdpart365
    May 11, 2013 @ 12:07:55

    I see the humor but refuse to laugh. D matter be say:

    1. countless millions are gonna get married for these reasons and more similar ones and won’t admit it

    2. Some, after realizing on their own what the other person’s reasons are, will still in ahead with it- making the marriage institution look bad.

    3. Our families are not even helping us with all the pressure to get married.

    But. .

    1. I believe in love (decision to be with a person inspite of the crap you see) and its power to change circumstances for the better- if we let it.

    2. Can’t say that they’re perfect for each other (you only know that when they die), but I can say that through their diehard honesty + more, they can achieve much in the relationship.

    3. Toyin, great piece: truthful, thought provoking, witty and evernew!
    God bless your (pen) flow!

    Reply

  16. ololade
    May 11, 2013 @ 12:20:18

    Thay are not ready for what da want

    Reply

  17. famuyideolawale
    May 11, 2013 @ 12:30:14

    A thought provoking point served with a pinch of humour. Thanks Toyin.

    Reply

  18. Victor
    May 11, 2013 @ 12:31:26

    this story reminds of the popular saying*cunning man die,cunning man bury am*.but really if they end up getting married after knowing their individual reasons,it be an interesting marriage.i would really love to know if love will grow with time for them.nice one toyin..

    Reply

  19. WorldFamous Lammy (@lammyng)
    May 11, 2013 @ 13:56:03

    This is so hilarious… They are just perfect for each other

    Reply

  20. isaacola
    May 11, 2013 @ 15:08:14

    Crazily hilarious. Thumb up!

    Reply

  21. Jyte
    May 11, 2013 @ 15:18:52

    First of all, wow! I love the story. I’ll come back with a longer comment after I read it again. Well done!

    Reply

  22. chidiandy
    May 11, 2013 @ 15:26:35

    Truth is that in our present generation, “love at first sight” has become a myth. Most marriages nowadays still hold because of the presence of the children in the family and the social status already being built by the couple. I believe that love grows in marriage with time but it has to take some effort from both parties. The two people in this story started well by saying the truth and i feel it can be the bedrock of the union…they are perfect for each other.

    Reply

  23. 9jaBloke
    May 11, 2013 @ 15:32:36

    I am surprised that quite a number of people feel they are both made for each other and their marriage would be interesting. Far from it and that is the simply why I beg to differ. The marriage institution was created by God for a purpose. If the foundation is faulty from the get go, like a house, in due season it would come crashing down . You do not get married for the wrong reason(s) and that is the thrust of Toyin’s tale well garnished with a comic condiment.

    NB: Toyin, l am still expecting the concludng part of the story where a lady had a child and the husband continues to self inflicted delusion of being a proud father. Can’t remember the title now.

    Reply

  24. kingsiju ...the positive phenomenon!
    May 11, 2013 @ 16:34:11

    Very deep writing. No tension, no frivolities but straight on point. I read it and had a quick rethink. Good job!

    Reply

  25. olisa
    May 11, 2013 @ 16:39:48

    this is wonderful. Many people marry for the wrong reasons….and honestly, the story is the life of many ‘untruthful’ couples.

    Good heads up for the single folks

    Reply

  26. kingsiju ...the positive phenomenon!
    May 11, 2013 @ 16:43:42

    One special thing about your blog, the pictures, for those who can “read” them says alot. It tells me alot about your creative mind. May your fountain continue to flow fresh!

    Reply

  27. alex
    May 11, 2013 @ 17:18:21

    Lovely, very brilliant. Toyin u succeeded in touching a sensitive part of contemporary society

    Reply

  28. incurableromanticSomi
    May 11, 2013 @ 18:31:20

    They had better get married abeg… they fit each other… 🙂

    Reply

  29. Olapaigeyou
    May 12, 2013 @ 01:31:04

    Great piece… Interesting story… Hmmm Got me thinking lol

    Reply

  30. maxxokoedion
    May 12, 2013 @ 05:46:08

    very nice toyin. Very nice. And so funny!

    I don’t quite agree with the majority who believe they are perfect for each other. Yes they are honest with each other no matter how ridiculous the truth is but this is only one aspect of the entire institution of marriage. their foundation is clearly shaky and they both displayed not even one single piece of understanding of the purpose of marriage. In the end they may work. But they need to understand what marriage is about before that can happen. I agree with 9jabloke.

    beautiful allusion, beautiful piece. Bless you 🙂

    Reply

  31. degreatest2
    May 12, 2013 @ 10:06:13

    Hmmmm. I work in a television station on dstv platform and on one of our recorded shows, a guy pulled off a daring surprise by proposing to his girl right there on the show…. She accepted and i thought “this has to be love” but reading your blog now…. i am beginning to have some doubts.

    The babe is gorgeous, a medical doctor and the guy is a pharmacist who has studied and worked in Europe, they have also been away from each other for the most part of their 2years relationship……

    Could the guy have proposed cos of some of the reasons above and could the girl have said YES cos of same???
    Anyway, the programme will soon air and most will have something to say about it

    Reply

    • toyinfabs
      May 12, 2013 @ 12:25:08

      Eiya, I’m sure most people will also think it’s love oo. But who knows it might be love although I dont like a guy proposing suddenly. We should have had a prior discussion about our future together. Talk about the things that would make or mar our marriage.

      Reply

  32. bjnaty
    May 12, 2013 @ 11:10:21

    Whao! Interesting…..

    Reply

  33. amaeze
    May 12, 2013 @ 12:12:51

    Lovely write up, sounds like I’m in the same phase if life with the dude. The writer has got wicked humour.

    Reply

  34. fansey j
    May 12, 2013 @ 22:31:09

    nice i hope d story end well

    Reply

  35. thirdpart365
    May 12, 2013 @ 23:36:49

    You know ehn, I’ve been pondering muchly since the other day o. Here’s a couple of thoughts:

    > neither of the two placed particular emphasis on looks
    > Bros seemed to be simply responding in kind, to what Babe said: while everything he said was valid, it looks (well as I see it) like he’s getting back at babe
    > Apparently, these two pikins haven’t even factored God in this whole time. WHO ARE WE KIDDING NA? No God, No Gain in whatever pursuit.
    > This kind of honesty only serve to hit below the belt more often than not. Mbok, by all means, raise kids in this atmosphere and we have Hitler, Nero, Herod, Alan Shore, Denny Crane, Luthor & I go die in one family!
    What’ve they all in common? They’re pretty honest about why they ‘do things’. . (I’m sure we get the picture here).

    Ok. Make I run go ponder some more.

    Lovely week to all.
    God bless you muchly!

    Reply

    • toyinfabs@gmail.com
      May 13, 2013 @ 06:54:02

      You raised a valid point. Two very important things were missing. God and Love. Thanks i’m eagerly waiting for more thoughts

      Reply

    • toyinfabs@gmail.com
      May 13, 2013 @ 17:37:05

      LOL AT Hitler, Nero, Herod, Alan Shore, Denny Crane, Luthor & I go die in one family. Hehehehehehehehe….disaster niyen oo

      Reply

  36. Mute Efe
    May 13, 2013 @ 12:28:30

    Hello Toyin,
    I am short of words as regarding your creativity in this article. Driving home the point without driving home the point. Haaahaaaaa! You are good. Honestly.

    One more thing. Your home page shows all your articles in full. I had that problem on my blog too. I think it is better for excerpts to show on the home page. Say, like the first 5 lines with a “read more” link so one can click on it to get the full article.

    You can message me if you need any help. Will gladly help.

    Thanks for this great piece.

    Reply

    • toyinfabs@gmail.com
      May 13, 2013 @ 17:38:55

      Thanks, I’m glad you love the stroy. About the home page, I think it’s about preference because one can actually change the settings at any point in time.

      Reply

  37. @karisvikta
    May 14, 2013 @ 08:39:01

    That’s the problem in our world today, lack of understanding. People don’t it, tHey don’t even have a clue what marriage is all about, they think it’s sex, money, food or their parents getting off their tail. I don’t blame the girl, but what about the guy who cannoit even give a sense of direction! God help this generation!

    Reply

  38. Tahir Sherriff
    May 14, 2013 @ 10:27:41

    For me the kiss kind of sealed it off. Great twist, comedy from a reality we all share…

    Reply

  39. cobany
    May 14, 2013 @ 13:55:32

    Lovely write up

    Reply

  40. blogaces
    May 14, 2013 @ 17:24:25

    Dunno what to say. Excellent work,toyinfabulous.

    Reply

  41. Olayinka
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 19:07:32

    This is a truly hilarious one, but on a more serious note sha, dat Tilewa girl no try mehn.. She for at least use love start d whole thing now. Well, except she didn’t luv him at all sha. But den if d guy had not asked, would she hv just jumped into d marriage wit a mind to settle for whatever came wit it?
    Women should really give demselves a lot more credit. We can find love if we are patient and reasonable..

    Reply

  42. herbby
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 05:06:51

    Lol……quite funny.

    Reply

  43. yougeecash
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 20:18:03

    Wow. Amazing. As always! Unusual, nicely written and totally brilliant. At least they were honest with each other. Ha

    Reply

  44. highlandblue
    May 29, 2014 @ 09:00:35

    Love your blog. Or maybe the characters in your story. They are blunt and upfront. Maybe that’s how you are

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

