COIN……there are two sides to every story by @obasatemitope (Episode VIII)

imagesCAG71V1F

CLICK HERE FOR PREVIOUS EPISODES

“Which part don’t you understand huh? You didn’t think we were going to find out?”

Suddenly, Dapo smiled “there’s been a mix up somehow”

“Really?”

“She wasn’t pregnant; there was no way she could be”

“The autopsy can’t lie”

Dapo’s face dropped “You’re not kidding right?”

“Do I look like a clown?” Kogberegbe said angrily as he slammed his fist on the table that separated them. Dapo jumped and kept quiet

“Good thing your conscience caught up with you. So you freaked out and got someone to knock some sense into her right? Perhaps you didn’t mean so much harm but whoever you sent knocked more sense into her than was necessary. Am I right so far?” Kogberegbe’ anger reached the peak but Dapo kept quiet through his rant “Was it enough to kill her? If you knew you couldn’t face the responsibility, why weren’t you more careful? You are old enough to know the repercussion of having unprotected sex damn it!”

“There was no need to be careful detective Kogberegbe” Dapo finally said in a small voice

“Really?”

“I didn’t do it”

“Save me the sentiment, half of convicted felons have the same thing to say for themselves”

“I didn’t do it!” he screamed to gain Kogberegbe’ attention “we’ve only had sex once, and that was because I insisted. But it was more than a year after we started going out that she agreed to have sex with me and since…”

“But you did have sex right”

“Once detective, I swear, and it was a protected sex. I really can’t understand why she agreed to have sex with me in the first instance because after that first time, she wouldn’t agree to do it again. She said she only did it to prove to me that she had no problem having sex, not that I believed her. After then, she insisted we wait till we get married. I loved her, she capitalized on that and I agreed”

“Probably your protection wasn’t strong enough? She was pregnant, someone got her pregnant and you were the only one she dated!”

“I agree that someone got her pregnant but that someone wasn’t me”

“You said yourself that you had sex, even a one night thingy can result in pregnancy, you cant say you don’t know that”

“I know that however I put this, it will keep looking like I am a suspect but the only explanation is that she must have been seeing someone without me knowing”

“How can you be so sure”

“That only time we had sex was five months ago sir” Dapo said, looking up at Kogberegbe

Kogberegbe grabbed a chair and sat “What do you mean?”

“I’m sure there is a way you can determine the paternity of the foetus. You can test me or do whatever it is you people do, it will come up negative against me”

“Oh no” Kogberegbe said, covering his face with his hands “but if indeed you are innocent like you maintain, like you said, no matter how we look at it, you will always look guilty. Even from this point of view, you still have a motive”

“I know detective. But like you said earlier, I am lucky that you are on this case, you will do your best to nail the real killer won’t you?”Dapo pleaded “if I planned to kill her, I didn’t have to take her out that night, and even if i did decide to take her out, I didn’t have to bring her back, I could have done something along the way. If it was about the pregnancy, I didn’t know about it and even if I did, I could have resorted to drugging her, I wouldn’t go as far as a well planned murder, that’s not the kind of thing that a regular student does, and I assure you I am a regular student with no record of cultism. I never stopped loving her sir, and even now with the knowledge of her betrayal, I love her still. The only hurt I feel is knowing I will never see her again”

Kogberegbe looked at Dapo for a long minute and turned to leave

“Thank you detective” Dapo said

“I’m not helping you” Kogberegbe threw back over his shoulder, irritated “For all I know, you may warm the cell bed for a year.”

“It’s difficult to investigate matters in Nigeria because we don’t have records. But I know you’ll find out the truth”

 

——–

On his way out, Kogberegbe pondered about what Dapo said. Truly, it took twice the normal effort to get to the root of a crime in countries such as Nigeria. There was a particular case he remembered which the police screwed up before his arrival. Some amateurs robbed an office, leaving foot and finger prints at the scene. When the police first arrived, they questioned the local security men who claimed that it was an insider that did the job and that it wasn’t done at night. Kogberegbe knew they only cooked up this story so as to cover their own lethargic attitude to work, often times they would be found sleeping on duty. The police took their words and immediately started investigating on the assumption that the robbery didn’t take place at night and that a staff committed the crime, thus neglecting important links such as the footprints and the fingerprints. Some staff were immediately arrested and the police took off to the office. They were soon called back by some staff who pointed out the clear footprints on the fully rugged floor of one of the robbed offices. The perpetrator even took off his shoes and the prints were of the person’s bare foot. The police discarded this, saying that it was planted after they left the scene. When the finger prints on the window was shown to them, an officer attempted to wipe the finger prints, asking if it truly was a fingerprint and wondering aloud why the office window was so dirty! There was not much to work on by the time Kogberegbe arrived and he found it difficult to respect the Nigerian police ever since.

Kogberegbe drummed the steering wheel impatiently as he waited for Dana to pick up his call. She did on the third ring.

“Hey pretty. Can you please schedule a DNA test to be taken of the foetus? I need to determine the paternity”

“Let me guess, boyfriend in trouble right?” she chuckled

“They’re always the first suspects”

“I’m on it boss”

“How long will it take to have the result?

“Wouldn’t count on you having that anytime soon. It may take a month, the results you had today was rushed because of its urgency”

“I understand Dana. But can this also be pushed?  I don’t expect to still be on this case in four weeks!”

“Not much I can do boss”

“But I heard there’s a new lab in town and that you no longer have to send samples abroad for results right?”

“Yea, and that’s why it’s going to take four weeks. You know how long things used to stay when we depended on labs across the border”

“Dana, please think up something”

“Criminal samples take priority, but we even have loads of that in the lab. I’ll find a way to push it up the list. Despite that, don’t expect a miracle, it will definitely take days”

“You’re a darling, Dana. Days sound more promising than weeks. Bye” Kogberegbe put the phone in the glove box. In Lagos, you don’t just leave your phone lying around- or anything of importance for that matter. Valuable things had a way of disappearing when you do. His head was throbbing again, and Kogberegbe knew it was because he was out of leads. He would like to wrap the case as soon as possible but the only link he seemed to have would take ‘a few days’ at the minimum.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amaeze
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 22:22:39

    Wow, it’s not even Saturday yet, thanks for the early release, does this mean we get another episode tomorrow(trying my luck)

    Reply

  2. Dennis Agyeman
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 22:28:53

    reparcaution or repercussion.

    Reply

  3. Major Sam Olaosebikan(rtd).
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 05:08:31

    My dear portable daughter,you’re making waves with your story; I can’t wait to sit on the hightable again for the launch of this book that will rank high amongst indigineous literatures.Your untiring effort to display the coins of the sixties is highly commendable:Keep it up!my dear omo eledin yeye;omo oloro ijinle!Kare o,omo mi atata,omo mi ape! Eager to read the next episode.

    Reply

  4. tosin
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 06:17:47

    Well done babe…suspense continues

    Reply

  5. Ramsey Bimbola Gold
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 06:43:39

    Intelligent use of natural creativity…I’ll be here next saturday

    Reply

  6. Theodora Ashare
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 08:04:35

    Twists n turns…I’m luving that!!@

    Reply

  7. Theodora Ashare
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 08:04:42

    Twists n turns…I’m luving that!!

    Reply

  8. Yetundeadebiaye
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 19:40:38

    What’s more to say? Great! As always! Dapo’s confidence is building! Kogberegbe’s leads is drying up fast! Thrilling! Carry go!

    Reply

  9. olalohunpe
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 11:46:41

    Wow! suspense oh…………………. Kogberegbe shd act fast joor…….my detective instinct is tinking Sabo……lol

    Reply

  10. adedotun
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 21:33:52

    Phew!suspense again..I’d keep reading

    Reply

  11. temitopeobasa
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 06:40:57

    Reblogged this on temitopeobasa's Blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

Iconsnest's Blog

Love. Culture. Food

