An Elegy to the GIRL-bride by Gbenga Osowe (@gbengaosowe)

child bride

This is an elegy to the bride who is still but a child

Crying every night as she suffers pain so gruesome and not mild

Pains caused by the enlarged phallus of a man no better than beasts in the wild

In tears, she watched, as the beast grunted in the joy of orgasmic fervour

Panting as he spills the seed of life in her,

She felt relieved of the weight of his body,

But no, the ache in her heart wouldn’t subside

This is an elegy to the child bride

With silent tears in her heart as her childhood is being taken forcefully from her;

For she is still but a child yet would soon give birth to another

Nightmares from the previous night, makes her long for the cuddle of her mother

The mother who watched helplessly as she was given as a bride to a friend of her father’s

The father who intends to use the money collected to marry a girl just like her

The girl who she’d meet in the treatment centre from damages done to their birth canal and bladder

The bladder leaking urine, the pungent odour unbearable, their lives so miserable

Yet their plights could have been avoided, if only for their sakes others stoods

—-

This is an elegy to the girl bride

How I wish I were but a knight to take up your case and fight for your rights

I would defend your right to a future so promising and bright

Lifting my sword, shiny and bright

I would stand up and declare war against those who complicate your plight

Tawdry old men from whose brains wisdom has taken flight

But I am not a knight girl-bride, but even then I would still fight

I would fight with my pen, with my mouth, with the thoughts of my head and put them in verses

Child-bride, I would scream against this injustice to you

I would stand with others and sign this petition

careproperty

photo credit: google images

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amaeze
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 19:28:53

    This is deep. I dont understand why all the Senators failed to tell Yerima that Nigeria is a secular country with a secular constitution which is higher than any Christian or Muslim law.He knows he can’t try that stuff in any civilized country.

    Reply

  2. Taiwo
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 20:03:08

    Can’t find the words to describe this! Thank You

    Reply

  3. Jyte
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 07:56:16

    *deep sigh. I served in the northern part of Nigeria and words cannot describe some of the things I saw.

    Reply

  4. hadeezah jibril
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 14:06:58

    This is so deep,absolutely touching,this should STOP!

    Reply

  5. famuyideolawale
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 15:01:07

    A little sister (15yrs) just read this and she is in tears. This so touching. I could not read it twice. We must just do something.

    Reply

  6. @CoolSarlsu
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 21:14:05

    My mother disagree with early marriage of young gurlz.. N i love her 4 that.

    Reply

  7. Adetola Oniyelu (@Adetolababs)
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 04:54:31

    Wonderful piece. Really inspiring. I am joining you in this fight also. Bravo!

    Reply

  8. St Naija
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 05:55:58

    WOW. This was strong. I am with you bro.

    Reply

  9. olajumoke
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 12:08:54

    Its so absurd and unheard of in civilized countries.this should stop if truely it existed still.its indeed heart touching

    Reply

  10. Olumide Bamiloshin
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 20:09:24

    A piece for action. Prosperity we judge us all, for our actions and inactions. Good piece.

    Reply

  11. BeracharAnuoluwapo
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 10:40:43

    This is good, deep and touching. T

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

