Not So Happily Married…. Episode Three

Couple_ToyinFABBB

Did you read Episodes One and Two ?

If you didn’t, find them here Episode One , Episode Two

 “How long are we going to do this Jite? You should have called off the wedding since my sins are too great to be forgiven.”

“We will do this for as long as it takes for me to come to terms with what you did.”

“Now, do you want us to make love or not?” He asked holding the pink coloured condom in front of him. I looked at the object in his hands disgusted beyond all measure. I wondered why he felt the need to buy a coloured one. I glanced at the condom case and smirked at the strawberry pictured on the case. Oh crap, perhaps it’s scented too.

“Jite, don’t call this making love; it would be better put as sex.”

“Okay, then do you want  to have sex?”

“If yes let’s get it over with and if no let me go back to sleep peacefully.”

“Okay let’s do it.” I whispered shrugging

*****

Tears poured from my eyes soaking the soft pillow beneath my head.

 “I shouldn’t be crying.”

“This is my wedding night.”

“I should be deliriously happy.”

Those were the words I kept murmuring to myself as I curled up on the only bed. I felt worse than a prostitute probably feels.

“You are a horny fool.” I told myself.

“Why would you agree to being used like that?”

I watched Jite. Sprawled on the bed, he looked content, sated and seemed to be sleeping peacefully. I thought of hitting him with something, anything but I didn’t move. I couldn’t move. “Mea maxima culpa. I brought this upon myself”. I murmured. I made a good man turn into what I could no longer recognize.

*****

I hate condoms. I see them as an unnecessary hindrance. Using them I feel like I am sharing the woman with a piece of polythene, somehow the sharing always ended in one of us being bitter while the other gets discarded in fury.

I felt a sadness that ran deep. I just had the worst sex of my life with my wife on our wedding night. It’s not like the condom was necessary in any way but somehow I was not ready to take the risk of having unprotected sex with Omoboye but most importantly I wanted to humiliate her.  Who knows if she still wasn’t ready for a baby?

The memory was still too raw to take the risk of it reoccurring.

I was at the clinic when you called. She had said as she opened the door of her room. I had visited her that evening after she missed a date we both agreed on.

Really, what’s wrong with you, are you ill? I had asked in quick succession touching her temple with my palm.

“Not really.  I was feeling funny so I went to the hospital immediately I left the salon.”

“I am fine now anyway. I just need to rest.”

“Okay so what exactly did they say was wrong with you?”

 “They said I was pregnant. Imagine that. Imagine me two months pregnant six months to our wedding.”

“What’s wrong with you being pregnant? Isn’t that good news?”

 “Well, it could be good news, except I don’t think it is.”

“If it’s about your stomach being big on the wedding day we could shift the event closer, besides that’s not even a big deal. A lot of people do it these days.”

“Jite, I know but I can’t do it. I can’t carry the pregnancy.

“Well, you can complain and argue all you want but you know you don’t have a choice right?”

“At least you can’t say you want to abort.”

“Why can’t I?”

“I can’t believe you asked me that question. You would abort a pregnancy few months to our wedding?”

“Yes Jite and it’s done.”

I had laughed certain she was joking.

You are not serious Boye, You would abort a pregnancy and still look like this and how would you have even done it so fast. Last I checked, abortion was still illegal in Nigeria.

Jite you have obviously been seeing too much of Nollywood movies.” she replied as she lay on her bed and covered herself with her Ankara wrapper.

“How so?” I asked my heart already palpitating.

“See, abortion is not that complicated; forget what they try to tell us in those movies. There are a good number of qualified doctors that do it on the side and it’s pretty simple. They bring out the foetus and you bleed for some days. You also take come antibio…”

“See, Boye spare me the lecture. What exactly are you saying?”

I’m saying it’s done already.

Omoboye, you can’t be serious. I replied searching her face for a hint that it was a bad joke.

****

I know it’s unheard of to abort a pregnancy when you are already engaged. I know that. I also know a lot of people will like to crucify me over it. But at that time it seemed like the reasonable thing to do. Even my mother had gone ballistics when Jite told her.  

‘That unborn child will haunt you for the rest of your life.”

Mummy, I had gasped.

“It’s not a curse my dear. You would always think of that child, you would feel the loss, if not now, in the future. You would wonder if he or she would have been fair or dark, tall or short, intelligent or dumb.”

“Mummy stop.”

“Stop what? You have done a great evil in case you do not know. My advice to you is that you don’t come crying to me if that man refuses to go ahead with the marriage. Any sane man will call it off because you are not worth it. You are a vain creature with sand paper as brain.”

Mummy this is enough, stop right now or I walk out.

“Feel free to walk out because I have no intention of stopping until I’m done. If Jite eventually marries you because I don’t expect him to, God help you if you don’t get pregnant in your first year of marriage. I would be the one to tell your husband’s people what you have done.”

“Mum! Why are you making this look like a big issue? It’s not like I killed someone.”

“Oh, Omoboye, that’s exactly what you did. You killed someone; you killed a child.”

“Mom, it was a two month old pregnancy, something that was more of blood than any other thing.”

“May thunder strike that stinking mouth of yours.” She screeched sending a slipper flying at me.

I ducked and shivered wondering why she was taking it so violently.

“You called a whole human being something that looked like blood? You were once like that too, imagine what would have happened if I had aborted you.”

“Now get out of my sight, but Omoboye go and pray hard that your husband finds it in his heart to forgive you. If he doesn’t and the wedding is called off, I will tell anyone who asks me. I will tell them what you did.”

Driving to my flat that night I had been mad at Jite for telling Mom but I wasn’t in the position to show it, not when he was too angry to even pick my calls. Later that night after several calls to Jite still went unanswered I asked myself if I was under some kind of a spell. I was certain I had to be the biggest idiot ever. A smarter person would have kept her mouth shut. I kept asking myself what I had expected Jite’s reaction to be. Joy that I aborted his baby?

 

***

This has got to be the worst wedding night in the history of the world. I mused listening to her sobs. Why am I this way? I wondered trying to decide whether to comfort her or not.

But what’s with women and tears anyway?

They find it easy to break down in crocodile tears expecting the man to come rushing to wipe them off. That is not going to happen, I decided.

If I was a woman perhaps I would have cried too. I would have mourned the baby she murdered. Boy or girl. I am never going to know.

All my life, I have tried my best to ensure no girl gets pregnant for me when I am not ready for fatherhood. I made myself so versed in the art of withdrawal that I swore by it and even preach it to friends.

“It’s pretty easy.” I would say. “It’s all about self awareness and mind control. You have to be in control and make sure you are out in the split second before you climax.”

Somehow I must have relaxed after Omoboye and I got engaged and I was certain that must have been why she got pregnant. I felt like a bereaved father. As crazy as that sounds it’s still a fact that I have a child in heaven or wherever it is that fetuses go after they die.

Lying beside her and listening to her sobs, I thought of how we could easily make another baby. All I had to do was draw her close and ditch the condoms. But it was a risk I was reluctant to take. Not until she gets cured of her vanity and I was going to ensure that happens. I decided telling myself it was time to shut out her sobs and go to sleep.

****

Use your head, Omoboye. Think! I told myself.

 Mom always said you were going to be a lousy wife and here you are proving her right the very first day.

I sat up suddenly cleaning the tears on my face with the edge of my night dress.

“What would a smart woman do?” I murmured taking myself back to the moment we entered the room. A smart woman would act like she didn’t know he was acting up and take to pampering him to make him loosen up. My lips curved in a smile as the ideas started flowing.

“God please be with me on this.” I whispered.  

I moved to the side of the bed where Jite was and knelt beside him.

“My husband you must be tired.” I whispered placing my palm on his forehead. His eyes remained close but the frown on his face assured me he wasn’t sleeping.

“Sweetheart, I think we should eat something.”

“Should I order?”

“I’m not hungry.” he growled.

“You are not? What about a drink or something light. We didn’t eat anything at the reception you know.”

“I said I’m not hungry, are you deaf?” I cringed at his words; it was so unlike him to use such words on me.

 “Okay then. Can I rub your shoulder blades, you look tense.”

“See, I don’t need a back rub or anything else, if you are so bored, pick a magazine or a novel, I packed some for this honeymoon thing. Read or sleep and if its sex that you want let me know. I have enough condoms to last the entire honeymoon.” 

“Oh, Crap.” I said sitting on the bed with a force.

“Jite, why are you being so impossible?”

“It’s not like you were forced to marry me, you could have said you couldn’t do it. Look here, I’m not going to live the rest of my life like this.”

“In fact, how soon can we get a divorce?” I blurted out before I could stop myself.

55 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tomiadesina
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 06:59:32

    Yea! Way to go! 😀 seriously…they need some time off, she needs to repent to be honest, and Jite needs to really forgive. Don’t shoot me yet for the ‘divorce’ option, but they should never have gotten married!

    Reply

  2. moskeda
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 07:14:18

    Shey this chick doesn’t have a brain. He should deal with her

    Reply

  3. seunodukoya
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 07:15:10

    GASBY! GASBY!!

    As in. Sigh.

    So because of that, he decides to marry her and punish her.

    Love sure is a strange thing. I have given up on expecting it to look like this, smell like that…

    Nice one Toyin. Next.

    Reply

  4. Olayinka
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 07:23:42

    Talking divorce on a honeymoon night? Pretty serious s**t mehn.. Cnt wait to see how dis ends..

    Reply

  5. julius p
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 07:23:54

    No comment yet. Let me savour more.

    Reply

  6. olalohunpe
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 07:38:48

    OMGness! i have to wait till next week *sad face* but ds is awesome mehn! nicely said @ divorce??????? ok o! i can bet the guy will not grant her divorce

    Reply

  7. famuyideolawale
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 07:42:25

    Ghen ghen, Boye, is a stupid woman, gosh. Well on the surface, she deserved that. But…i know jite will soften later. What she did was/is painful. Well, let me keep my fingers crossed.

    Reply

  8. dazeetah
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 08:08:42

    She wishes! Who gets pregnant n doesn’t discuss first with d Father n to think he is ready 4 marriage! Sme pple do not know wat dey ve .Divorce is not an option. Nt 4 her.

    Reply

    • toyinfabs
      Jul 18, 2013 @ 06:54:04

      Awww, Zita. That “not for her” sounds like make she continue to carry the cross. Yeh….Omoboye don enter am.
      Thanks dearie, I appreciate you so much

      Reply

  9. uriel
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 08:18:21

    This Jite is provoking o…..and the Omoboye girl is world’s greatest learner….what was she thinking? well, I reckon Jite wasn’t responsible for the pregnancy sha…when you dey tidy ‘skin-to-skin’, you think say na glucose dem dey pour inside your body? muntula!

    Reply

  10. grace
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 08:45:18

    Tfabs,dis is WOW!!!!!!love is pain they say.I hope they find their rythm back.

    Reply

  11. mi
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 08:51:58

    Hmm,toyin o….d babe was rong buh jite can forgive her na we all make mistakes…..and she’s makin d rite move askin for a divorce which ‎​I reckon is just her way of seein if he rili loves her,am hoping he doesnot agree sha if not she wud v to beg,nice story toyin “our girl”. ….regards @sleekdami

    Reply

  12. Taiwo
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 09:07:04

    This gets more interesting!! Can’t wait for the next episode.

    Reply

  13. oscarpoems
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 09:30:23

    This is hard, yet simple. Easy, yet complex, and madam goes seeking to get his attention, asks for a divorce. I hope she won’t rue that, like the pregnancy ish she told him about. Next week come quick biko

    Reply

  14. amaeze
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 09:41:19

    Now I’m starting to side with Jite. Vain chick mschewwwww. Keep it coming Toyin, it gets more intersting by the day.

    Reply

  15. Clarion
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 10:09:02

    I’m guessing Boye still hasn’t said the real reason she opted for an abortion, maybe Jite wasn’t responsible for it. Many opinions here- maybe she should have kept quiet about it, maybe she shouldn’t have done it…whatever the case, she has done it and Jite should learn to get over it so they can move on with their lives. Its hard, but possible. What if she had lost it thru’ a “natural” miscarriage? He should just forgive her abeg. Punishing her like this is just not right. If he was so pained, he shouldn’t have gone ahead with the wedding.
    I’m not in support of divorce but I can’t blame Boye for asking for one. It can be horrible when someone u care deeply for holds u in the highest disdain. And to think of spending what would have been their happiest night together in such misery & anger….imagine spending the rest of their life like that, I can imagine her blurting it out without thinking.
    Nice one Toyin, let’s wait and see what u concoct next week 😉

    Reply

  16. ololade
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 10:11:08

    Na wa o
    Toyin no go kill us wit anticipation
    Am sure he won’t give her a devorce,or he will give her a condition she can not meet.

    Reply

  17. olajumoke
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 10:49:42

    The story is emmotional.and Enough lessons from them.

    Reply

  18. Maltesers addict
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 11:10:57

    He should deal with her.. She is so naughty.. And she doesn’t want to listen.. But I think jite should seek counselling or something..

    Reply

  19. Dennis Agyeman
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 11:41:48

    how soon can we get divorce…lol….what wrong with that Omoboye..i wont blame d man in dis case….

    Reply

  20. Yetundeadebiaye
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 12:13:01

    Wow! You got me there TY, I assumed she cheated ni o, what a twist! But mehn this one worse pass cheating ke! She cheated (deprived) him of the joy of fatherhood! And to think he was ready to marry her! 6 months before their wedding! Plus how can you abort a man’s pregnancy without discussing with the man 1st? Who does that? Well, I’m with Jite on this, he has forgiven her but he still needs to punish her. Let her know and appreciate the gravity of her action. But divorce? Well… Its an option, always an escape but never the solution. TY, great work; great write up; great story; great everything. God bless you. But stop making me beg oh!

    Reply

  21. tessadoghor
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 12:29:40

    Cool.
    She shouldn’t ever suggest a divorce
    The marriage is done, it is done.
    He is not a very good forgiver and so he wants her to do penance
    That is her cross, she has to do penance and then pray really hard
    that God will help her walk in the spirit and get rid of vanity.
    Forget the advice
    Its a good read.

    More grease to your head!

    Reply

  22. marvel
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 12:30:32

    Jugding from what tha gents of these days want..Boye must have done what she thought was right for the both of them…who knows maybe Jite would have ended the courtship since he perceives himself to have gained mastery in using withdrawal method while having sex am not so sure if he would have taken responsibility of the pregnancy….just my thoughts!..Tfab thanks for the story nice twist..you got us thinking!.

    Reply

  23. motunzmakeover
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 14:30:36

    Awesome writeup,jite and his wife’saga.am seriously clapping for you,now my hands are folded to watch the drama has it unfolds. More grace

    Reply

  24. Aziz
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 18:17:26

    You’ve done it again. Well written. Kudos

    Reply

  25. josy ashare
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 10:21:59

    im luving this and looking foward to the next episode.Tope,u should visit gh sooon.misd u loads

    Reply

  26. @IamAyomiDotun
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 11:18:42

    Hmmm… How come I didn’t get a notice of this episode?! Next episode please…

    Reply

  27. Sapphire
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 15:18:24

    Nice one. Cnt wait 4 d nxt episode

    Reply

  28. itweetcodar
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 04:54:38

    Okies, 1st time I’ll drop a coMment
    Well I think/feel dias a greater force behind Boye aborting that baby. Uno all dese Spirikoko Mother-In-Law, I guess she was d 1 dat threatened Her in2 aborting d baby cos she gave her a ‘stern’ warning when dey started dating.

    Dats another twist 2 d story
    But I feel no Woman would be that stupid to do sumtin like dat.
    Beautiful write Up, kudos 2 d writer

    Reply

  29. ehis
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 20:43:21

    i always enjoy reading from your blog

    Reply

  30. elsieisy
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 12:57:25

    “See, I don’t need a back rub or anything else, if you are so bored, pick a magazine or a novel, I packed some for this honeymoon thing. Read or sleep and if its sex that you want let me know. I have enough condoms to last the entire honeymoon.” LMAO! This is mean

    Reply

  31. SeyiOwate
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 12:12:34

    Awww! I like Toyin alredi.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

