My Mother….The Sunbeam by @sleekdami

Hi, everyone

@sleekdami is a reader and a friend. She lost her Mom last week. May her soul rest in peace

Amen

AKSO6W6CAZD1HTBCAG74PQ5CAEOM4ERCA33ZKMXCAGOB40WCAPWEQMPCAEBRDR1CAC7EP3XCADR1DAXCAM8ZS4GCAFTU3S9CAWQ6JVHCA0QAEJ0CACLN4W4CAB2OGNWCA7VB1G5CABALXC9CA0IR6SYCAT4G2KY

Tuesday

9.03 pm,‎​I knocked on  my house door in Abuja after staying in Karu holdup, after all the greetings,‎​I sat to charge my phone.

“Your mum is sick.” said my aunt,

ehen ‎​I didn’t know” ‎​I replied

“E wo she will be fine”

“Hmm ‎​I think it’s serious my aunt said, she is in the hospital on her 3rd drip.”

“Really? alright ‎​I would call Popsi”

‎​I got up and went to my room, changed into my night wear and ate,‎​I called my sis ,

“How far shey u heard Mumsi is sick,

She – “yea, ‎​I spoke to Popsi. Would take a break from work tomorrow and see her”

Me– “aii keep me posted”

‎​I said a word of prayer and slept

 

Wednesday –

Was at work by 7am,typical bank resumption time, finished d morning meeting by 8am,was trying hard not to think about my mom ,believing  she would be fine as usual “mummy was never sick” occasional headache and tiredness …that’s all.

Fast forward -10 am, ‎​I called my sis, she said mommy didn’t sleep all night, we are taking her to Lasuth”

“aii, keep me posted ” was all ‎​I could manage to say

God ‎​I am scared, different thoughts running through my mind, ‎​I went to d ladies….tears were running down, my colleague saw me and was scolding me for not having faith, your mummy would be fine don’t worry,

Hmmm….my mummy is never sick was d only thing ‎​I managed to say

“Have faith” she said, “Its okay…” ‎​

I wiped my tears and went to my seat.

‎​I said a prayer all through that day as ‎​I went about fulfilling my obligations, even the SMS alert of salary didn’t cheer me up….

8PM

I’m home early…my aunt wasn’t home, it was just her kids,‎​I hurriedly micro waved their food and mine and we sat down eating,

‎​I had been on d phone all day with my dad and sis …mommy had to be operated upon ASAP for intestinal obstruction after about five scans and x-rays….operation was scheduled for 7pm…It was a ten hour operation, ‎​I begged to speak with her on phone they said she was too weak to talk, but that the surgeons seemed optimistic.

10PM

‎​I gave my aunt the situation report and bade her goodnight, ‎​I told my sis to text me on the progress of the surgery

Thursday- 5am

Alarm rang and ‎​I woke up…..hmm….the SMS came in

“Surgery was successful, she’s been transferred to ICU, the next 72 hours are critical, keep praying”

‎​I said a quick prayer to God smiling….a dream came back to my head….Rewind..Wednesday night

Wednesday night..

‎​I dreamt…..‎​I saw my mom lying down looking slimmer:

Me – Orobo (‎​I called her Orobo and she would normally say “you would be bigger than me”) “How are you…how was your surgery?”

Mummy – “I’m fine ‎​I didn’t need the surgery.”

Me- “Okay but you are fine?”

Mummy- “Yes”

Thursday Morning – 5.20am

While bathing a song came to my mind

“Eni ta jo shana daa,o ti ku o ti lo”

‎​I rejected it with the blood of Jesus and sang a song of thanks giving.

8.45am– office…heavy rain started sudden stray thought passed

“Your mom is dead”‎​I rejected it again, the dream came to mind” ‎​I rejected it

9.00 am– My younger sister called…

She- “I was calling them at the hospital; no one is picking up their call.”

Me– “Don’t worry they are busy would call you back.”

‎​I called my sister’s phone, my other aunt picked

Aunt-Hello

Me– please where is my sister? How’s Mumsi?

Aunt– (sniffing) “she’s fine she’s fine don’t worry.”

Me-“Are u sure? You are lying”

The line went dead!

‎​I called my dad

Me– Daddy how far? What’s happening?

Daddy– “There is no need to lie; the doctor just told me my wife is no longer alive.” (he breaks down)

Me-“Daddy calm down,‎​I will be in Lagos tomorrow.”

Shaky hands,‎​I shut down my office work station, picked my bags and walked out

My colleagues were asking and already shouting “Jesus”

Only one thing was on my mind “last night dream” she said –“I didn’t need it, I am fine.”

“Oh God, not my mummy!!!!!”

In all things ‎​I have learnt to give thanks, the numerous calls from my wonderful family and friends, the trip to the airport…‎​I cried all through till Dana touched down at 10am on Friday ,till ‎​I got to my house gate, shaky legs, seeing all the cars parked outside the gate. Plastic chairs rented and canopy for friends who came to greet us… Oh the condolence registers….my mummy’s face smiling back and everyone…..

Its well….my mummy my friend…God bless u

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abdullahi Aborode
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 07:06:20

    Wow this is sad, may her soul rest in Peace.

    Reply

  2. modupsneb
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 07:42:10

    Dis story just brought tears to my eyes..and to tink dat at same time of reading,was listening to Asha’s “BEautiful’..my condolence to all those Bereaved…..God plz keep my mum,,av not done anything for her…teaful eyes**

    Reply

  3. darkiebussie
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 08:40:46

    May Her Soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

    Reply

  4. cocosgist
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 09:52:10

    I connected with this immediately. May her soul rest on peace & live on through you all.

    Reply

  5. Uzo
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 10:49:29

    Deep! It is well seems to be the most appropriate to come up with. May God console you and give you strength through this difficult time.

    Reply

  6. funke
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 11:20:43

    Awww, so sad. God grant her eternal rest.

    Reply

  7. Taiwo
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 14:36:06

    So Sorry about your loss. I can relate to this cos my Mum is Late too. May God grant her eternal rest

    Reply

  8. halimat
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 17:10:38

    Jenny ma luv.. May her soul rest in perfect peace. Dis is so touching dat I can’t help but cry! Mothers r rare gem.. Irreplacable.

    Reply

  9. jenny
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 17:20:44

    So touching buh itz well….. May d lord give ♏ƴ friend pearl d fortitude 2 bear d loss. Sleep on ma

    Reply

  10. Victoria
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 17:24:28

    It is well. Mothers are indeed indispensable. May Her soul sleep on peacefully.

    Reply

  11. taiwo
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 17:58:23

    All will be well,just take heart jenny dear.I no she’s resting where she is.

    Reply

  12. adesoye
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 18:18:43

    Jennifer,
    My darling school sister I received the news with the greatest shock. Loved your mum cos I love you like a sis. God will keep you and guide you for me. It is well. Words will never be enuff but Gods mercy will be sufficient all through this period of sorrow. We can question God all our lives but his ways are not ours. Adieu mrs comfort igberaese. You live on in our hearts.

    Reply

  13. maxxokoedion
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 18:37:10

    please be comforted knowing that she knows no pain anymore. may God grant you all the fortitude to bear the huge loss. *hugs*

    Reply

  14. shade
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 18:43:54

    Damilola its well.d lord will console u.every mother is a mother 2 all…God bless her indeed.

    Reply

  15. tejiri rogho
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 18:46:55

    Tears again….just like on the day I heard …..very sad,but the joy is that she is with the lord. Rest on ma’am in the bossom of our Lord.

    Reply

  16. oscarpoems
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 21:59:28

    Losing a loved one is always difficult. May you find peace, comfort and the fortitude to bear the loss. God’ll be with you, your dad and siblings and rest the soul of the departed.

    Reply

  17. josh
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 22:05:34

    My heart goes out to u,its hard to lose someone,and even harder to forget! Be strong,God speed!!

    Reply

  18. Mac-J
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 05:03:53

    Mothers r indeed everytin mostly to a geh child, I sincerely can’t imagine wat u r goin tru now bt accept my heartfelt condolence. Sure she is in a sickness free place; b strong Jenny.

    Reply

  19. Aminat Ojeifo
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 07:08:17

    *sighs deeply* Jenny, just believe dat God alone knows all. He preferred her to come stay with Him instead of watch her suffer. May HE grant u & d rest of ur family d fortitude & strength 2 bear d loss & absence. Keep praying for her soul. We ur friends won’t stop now too. *Hugs u tightly*

    Reply

  20. pearl
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 07:24:55

    Like she said…my mummy was never sick…she was always smilin n shell tell me whenever I’m frowning or crying that it just doesn’t make me look preety n I should always look preety….she was my mummy and will always be my mummy,..we struggle for everything she had….mym mummy my twinny…every1 call me “omo mummy” cos I was her carbon copy…shell always be pemembered….I wish I even saw her in my dream…would mean a lot to me…miss you mum…rest on

    Reply

  21. IKHARONA John Ziggy
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 10:34:36

    Really touching story. May GOD be there always to comfort those she left behind

    Reply

  22. Gina
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 20:11:50

    Tears drop! Very sad, but still we give God all the glory. May God grant her soul eternal rest in glory, Amen.

    Reply

  23. Anita
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 21:54:09

    My pretty pretty mum!

    I’ll sure miss you! My head rings all day long with all the things you always told me…
    Wish you waited long enough for me to really repay you for all the sacrifices you made for us. You would do practically ANYTHING within christain boundaries to make sure we were okay.
    (Sigh)

    God’s ways are sure not our ways…
    Rest in God’s bosom!

    Reply

  24. jey Enabs
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 22:18:30

    I’m too hurt to liv a comment ohhh mama rip d last tym I saw u we did not v d whole day I wish we did rip 2 my bestie and twinny’s mum PEARL

    Reply

  25. Giga Ben
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 00:35:19

    Jenny, reading this piece brings tears to my eyes. She was my mum too…
    I was in a meeting when I got the call…I wasnt myself anymore for the rest of the day…I had to go home.
    I dont have words to say to take away a chip of the pain…but we r together in prayers. May God comfort us all…its well dear.

    Reply

  26. Giga Ben
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 00:46:01

    Dear Anita, Jenny, Richie, Pearl … God would see us through this trying time… Please be strong. It’s not easy… But I know He will not leave us to go through this alone.
    My dearest sisters nd bro…It’s well…

    Reply

  27. jane
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 04:51:24

    Be strong dear, May God keep and uphold you

    Reply

  28. Disu Olajumoke
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 05:29:54

    Only God knows the “y’s”. Keep bin strong.

    Reply

  29. omowumi
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 12:33:31

    Jenny dearie,I knw how it feels 2 loose a friend not to talk of one’s mother,I have never met her but felt her impact through you.take heart my dear friend and I pray there shall be no loss of any kind in ur family again ijn.May her soul rest in perfect peace.

    Reply

  30. victor
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 14:44:24

    it is well Jenny. RIP mum

    Reply

  31. Dami Adewale
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 22:07:15

    When peace like a river attendeth our way, when sorrow like sea billows roll, whatever our lot, Thou has taught us to say, it is well, it is well, with our souls… Nobody said the road would be easy buh He will never leave you nor forsake you, those are the words of the Lord dear and that’s all that should matter to YOU and I now.
    I know its hard or it seems hard but God has made provisions for you dear friend and He will not disapoint you. I know she lived well and would be proud of u wherever she is.
    You’re indeed a very stong young woman and I must commend that and I’m sure that’s what your mum, our mum would want to see in you even at this time.
    Pls be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might and always remember that God’s love towards you and your family is unfathomable and immeasurable. It is well sister.

    Reply

  32. valerie
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 22:48:24

    May her soul rest in perfect peace,droops 4rm my eye

    Reply

  33. Tinuola
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:05:51

    Swthrt…God knws best and A̶̲̥̅♏ sure she is in a better place…pele dear

    Reply

  34. omozino
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 17:18:43

    Hmmmmmm life is short. To think that I spoke to her the weekend before the sickness, her advice her prayer. The comfort she gave to my mum that day, I saw it all and even now its like watching a movie.
    She was always there with a word of comfort, prayer and a mother to me and us all.
    Will miss you Ma, I know you are in a better place. My heart and love goes out to Dad, Anita, Jenny, Richi and Pearl there is grace *big hug*

    Reply

  35. ladoyin
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 07:13:58

    Dear friend.Tis well. D Lord wil give u d comfort u need&he’ll be wit u all as a family. It ws painful&unbelievable wen I heard. God bless u dear

    Reply

  36. Bolaji
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 13:47:06

    Some things in life may not be understood but we always pray and hope our families and friends are safe, in God we trust. I’m reminded “the worth of a mother and impact in our lives”. Life is indeed short, let’s live, love and be good parents. I know Mrs Igberaese is in a much better place and we celebrate her life. God rest her soul. God’s blessings to all she left behind.

    Reply

  37. Obafunke
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 18:50:23

    This piece once again brot tears to my eyes…wz indeed shocked en sad wen I heard on dt fateful thursday.Anita,Jenny,Richie nd Pearl my heart goes out to u in dis trying time,pls take heart nd be strong.The good Lord wil comfort u more dan we can ever do nd God wil never ever leave u nor forsake u.Jenny my dear frnd pls be strong for me.even tho I saw ur mom jst once bak in school,u told a lot of wonderful thngs abou her.May God bless her beautiful soul.Sleep on Mrs Igberaese! We love you.

    Reply

  38. Oyinkansola
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 10:55:45

    Words cannot be enough to comfort u. May God grant Anita, Jennifer Pearl and Richie the fortitude to bear thier irreplaceable loss. I remember that I always admired Mr and Mrs Igberaese in school because of their interest in PTA meetings and gatherings. She always had a smile on her face. I also remember always making jest of Jennifer and pearl when they use words like “our mummy is coming”. May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. In Jesus Name.

    Reply

  39. funke
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 21:27:56

    Dat beautiful woman I hv always admired, tho in photo shots. Was deeply shocked wen I heard of her demise…like why???
    JENNY…tak heart. Its well

    Reply

  40. Yetundeadebiaye
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 10:17:20

    Aaarrrggghhh! I’m so sorry! The Lord will give you and your family the fortitude to bear this loss. Kpele. Be strong!

    Reply

  41. mdevaan
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 21:15:12

    it is well my dear

    Reply

  42. Trackback: My Mother….The Sunbeam by @sleekdami | YNaija FICTION

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

