Not So Happily Married …. Episode Six

Couple_ToyinFABBB

For Previous episodes, please click here

How stupid you are Omoboye, how stupid. How did you let this girl do this to you? But you have a brain right? Don’t you? You can think for yourself Omoboye, can’t you? I asked myself those questions in quick succession as I read Boladale’s messages.

She had put a crying symbol after I said she wouldn’t dare get pregnant.

“Boye, please I am sooooooooory. In fact I am dying here bits by bits.”

“Die quick bitch” I thought surprising myself. I wasn’t going to say a word to her again, I was sure of that. The rage I felt was like nothing I ever thought I could feel.

“Omoboye, my life is messed up. The guy I’m pregnant for is a colleague and he is married. We just had a one night stand and we used protection, I don’t just understand what happened.”

“Yes, bitches never understand.” I wanted to say; instead I switched off the phone.

“She must pay.” I muttered under my breath remembering how she had been the one to start it all when Mope – our other friend got pregnant. It shouldn’t have been our concern or even mine and at that moment I cursed Blackberry and the opportunity it provides for meaningless discussions to happen. She had been the one to send me a message that Mope was pregnant. I hadn’t seen anything wrong in it as long as the father was ready to marry her but she had insisted that it was wrong and selfish of Mope, that she had been too desperate and must have intentionally gotten pregnant just so the man could marry her.

I had been reluctant to judge and had simply said; it’s not a big deal as long as the guy marries her.

“No, he is not marrying her.” Bola had announced. She had added that she didn’t feel any pity for Mope and I shouldn’t also. Fool that I am, I had gone with her to Mope’s place a week later and instead of providing her with succor, I had joined in lecturing her on how it was bad to be pregnant out of wedlock. You would think I was a virgin with the way I had acted all sanctimonious delivering my lecture. I had told her how I believe a woman can decide when or when not to get pregnant and that it was such an insecure thing to trap a man with pregnancy.

As expected, it had been a big problem when I got pregnant myself, how do I face the same people and announce that I was pregnant. Wouldn’t I look like a hypocrite? And so I had decided to terminate the pregnancy. It sounded like the easy way.

Sitting there and looking at the phone in my hand, I told myself it would have been easier to apologize to my friends for being a hypocrite and let them know I was pregnant. Isn’t that what Bola is doing now? I asked myself.

“I am a joke.” I muttered ignoring the circles Jite was drawing on my shoulders. Bola’s situation was even worse, yet she is having her baby while I had aborted a baby whose father was ready to marry me.

“Baby what’s wrong; you are not looking too happy?” Jite said turning my face towards him.

“Jite, Bola is pregnant.”

“She is?” “That should be good news.” “Aren’t you happy for her?”

“I am it’s just that the father is married.”

“Oops! That’s a tricky one and wrong too but don’t forget she is a grown woman and is responsible for her decisions so that shouldn’t make you feel down.”

“Yes.” I replied absentmindedly.

I had a sudden urge to tell Jite everything but I was sure it would be a bad idea. So I decided it had to be the secret I will carry to my grave.

I resolved to concentrate on getting pregnant and at the same time look for a way to make Boladale pay.

____

We left few minutes later. I had lost interest in everything and just wanted to leave the beach and set the plan forming in my mind in motion. It was simple, give an overdue apology.

We entered the room; there was a note on the freshly made bed. “Dinner at 7” it read. I checked the time; 6.05pm. Time enough to do this I thought slipping out of my beach wear.

Jite’s back was turned to mine; he was trying to remove his wristwatch.

I went down on both knees and held this leg.

“Baby, what’s this? Why are you kneeling?” He asked turning to face me.

“Please Jite, let me remain this way. I need to be on my knees, I want to ask for your forgiveness.”

“Fine, but please stand up and put on your clothes.”

“No, Jite let me be like this. Please indulge me, please my husband.”

“Okay Omoboye, but I don’t like you kneeling like this before me; it makes me feel like I am maltreating you.”

“You are not Jite. I just want to say some things. I might sound stupid, in fact I think I would sound stupid, but allow me and please don’t laugh. Please.”

He nodded and so I began;

                                                              ” Before you, Jite,

                                                               before your blessed presence,

                                                               naked I kneel…

                                                               a prodigal…

                                                               lost in your love…”

                                                                         An aching prodigal,

                                                                        kneeling at your feet

                                                                        An aching prodigal,

                                                                 Who would make miracles

                                                               To understand the simple given

I was so afraid he would laugh, but he didn’t. He just pulled me up when I was done and hugged me hard.

“Christopher Okigbo; Heaven’s Gate.” He said simply, pulling back to look into my eyes.

I nodded. black_love_art_2~~element286

“Jite I am sorry, with all of my heart soul and body. I am sorry. I truly regret aborting that child.”

The tears were streaming down, it was easy to cry, I was feeling real pain. The anger and thirst for revenge forgotten for the moment.

****

She is so beautiful. It was the only thing I thought of as I looked into her eyes, she wasn’t looking at mine, she just kept murmuring about how sorry she was. I felt my heart ache.

“It’s okay baby. Please stop crying. I am also sorry for how I have been. Please forgive me. I shouldn’t have been that hard on you. I am sorry.”

“Jite its okay, I deserve everything that happened.”

“No, Boye you don’t. Love forgives all, I should have forgiven you and I had no excuse for cheating on you. I am so sorry about that, please forgive me. I promise to cut all ties with Bisade. I won’t even wave to her if you don’t want…”

“Sshhhhh”, she said looking into my eyes. “It’s okay Jite. I forgive you.” But I won’t forgive Bisade. I added under my breath.

I was relieved; it felt good to finally admit that I was wrong. She pressed her body to mine and I rubbed her bare back.

“Boye, we should still have some minutes before dinner right?”

She didn’t answer, she only nodded.

“How about putting that time to good use.”

“How about skipping dinner altogether.” She replied.

“Skip dinner ke, baby you would need that food oo because I intend to exercise my right as a husband this night and I must warn you it might be a bit exerting.”

“I can’t wait Jite.”

Much later, after we had made love for what seemed like the hundredth time, she asked a question;

“Jite, do you still have the condoms?”

“Baby, don’t tell me you are now addicted to those things, just when I was thinking we should get you pregnant.”

She smiled then running her fingers through my hair.

“Would you forgive me if I said I gave it out knowing this Island would hate such things?”

“No baby, I won’t forgive you I will have to punish you for that.” I added claiming her lips.

*****

He still snores, I thought with a smile as I removed his hand from where it lay possessively on my chest. I was so happy I could actually forget that I needed to deal with Boladale and Bisade, only I wasn’t going to. It didn’t matter that I did not know how to go about it or what exactly to do, I just knew I had to find a way. It’s the only way I will feel less like a fool. I ran a hand over my flat stomach wondering if I could be pregnant already. It amazed me how something that I had never bothered about was suddenly so important.

My mind went to the previous night and how the Jite I knew had re-appeared.

“Why did it take me so long to apologize?”

It was a question I found hard to answer. Perhaps I am a proud person after all I reasoned wondering why I had always seen myself as humble.

To think I kept telling God I was sorry, asking him to forgive me while neglecting the human I wronged.

My husband was here and it was major. My heart constricted with love as I remembered how during one of the bouts of sleep that we had during the night I had stood up to use the toilet. He must have woken up and realized I wasn’t there. It was his voice that brought me out of the toilet.

“Baby, Sweets where are you?”

I had been out in a flash, alarmed at his tone.

“Jite, I am here what is it?.” I asked as he wrapped me in a warm hug.

“I woke up, I didn’t see you, and I was worried.”

“Worried how? What could possibly happen to me here?” I had asked my heart glad at being so loved.

“Nothing. Baby. Nothing will happen to my wife, now let’s go back to the bed.”

I still wanted to use the toilet but I didn’t have the heart to say so. Not with the way he held me.

The shrill sound of Jite’s phone broke into my thoughts and also reminded me that my phone was still switched off.

“Baby, check who is calling”, Jite said in a very sleepy voice.

“Oga when will you stand up or we are not going out today?” I asked walking to the table where the phone was.

He mumbled something that was quite in coherent.

“The caller’s name is Skipper.” I said shrugging as I heard his snoring become renewed.

See, I am not the type of girlfriend or wife that checks her husband’s messages or go through his call history and so I would never have seen the message if Jite hadn’t installed an SMS flasher on his phone.

Just one word caught my attention before the message disappeared; “Sweetheart”. My first thought was who the heck was calling my husband sweetheart and then I went to the inbox to check the message. It was from the person that had called earlier; Skipper.

“Sweetheart, we need to talk as soon as you get back, there is a big problem on my hands here and you are the only one that can help with it. I Love you.”

“Sweetheart”, “problem”, “only one”, “Love you”; words that stuck out and brought a dull ache to my temple. “Who is Skipper?” I muttered under my breath; a memory dancing on the fringes of my mind. There was something about that word, “skipper” that was familiar only I couldn’t place it. I knew I would remember if I put my mind to it but first I deleted the message and the call record.

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sagay
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 04:43:31

    I felt everything was over when she apologized, that part was touching. Now, Skipper has entered the game.

    What happens next?

    Reply

  2. herbby
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 04:52:02

    Thnx Toyin…..can’t wait for the next episode.

    Reply

  3. niyi
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 04:55:31

    Woke up to read dis lovely episode.. the story is getting interesting.. this is superstory online version.. I love ur work @toyinfab

    Reply

  4. cocosgist
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 04:58:19

    Skipper ke? I know it isn’t that girl sha *fingers crossed*

    Reply

  5. jane
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 05:19:40

    Gangaauunn!! Boladale ɪ̣̝̇ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇ skipper right???? Lobatan!! D sweet bud ɪ̣̝̇ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇ jst begining 2 turn sour again!!!! Dis ɪ̣̝̇ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇ too complicated mheenn!!! As usual TY ɣ☺ΰ are too much, bros OZI ɪ̣̝̇ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇ damn lucky (:

    Reply

  6. Adewoyin Joseph
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 05:22:12

    Hmmmmn… this is getting more intriguing.

    Good job.

    Reply

  7. lawalaboladefatai
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 05:22:36

    I hope it’s not Boladale?

    Reply

  8. Ibk
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 05:31:17

    Ohhhhhh! When they’re finally doing alright, this Skipper character is cropping up. I’m 75% sure that that Bisade girl is the Skipper character or is Jite the married one night stand that Bola had?
    Wednesday can’t come soon enough º°˚

    Nice one ma’am

    Reply

  9. yougeecash
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 05:39:12

    Ahhhhh! Skipper ooooo! Skipper has ruined the peace o. She shouldn’t have deleted the message or the call records. At least that’s what I think. Infact, she should not have read the message. Curiosity truly does kill the cat. Ha. Nice one ma’am. We’ll be waiting expectantly for next week

    Reply

  10. Biola
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 05:53:02

    Awwwwww, I thought they were ok after the apology and all…….but now skipper shows up, I just hope its not Boladale…..finger crossed though. Well done Toyin!

    Reply

  11. moskeda
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 06:03:53

    Come o, who be skipper? Abeg, it should just skip the hell away from them shaperly! I reaLly love that they made up. Toyin, please dear, e jor, give us bonus episode na
    I love your stories and the way you write. There’s just something wholesome about u, darling

    Reply

  12. Ijilola
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 06:18:32

    Getting really interestin and complicated wit dis skipper o. Kudos to u Tfab

    Reply

  13. enajyte
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 06:22:58

    I knew it was too soon for the happiness. Choi! See gbege…Nice episode. Next one please…

    Reply

  14. fabunmi Tolani
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 06:28:39

    Wetin be skipper again now, sis u have a way of pitting us in suspense every week, I can’t wait to read d next one.

    Reply

  15. oscarpoems
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 07:13:31

    Skipper…trouble breweth

    Reply

  16. olaneeyiwrites
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 08:25:34

    From one hurdle to another. I love this.

    Reply

  17. iamtimayin
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 08:40:55

    Hmmmm reconciliation at last. And more events unfolding.

    Reply

  18. Tomisin Ajiboye
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 08:53:03

    Okay, So Jite has gotten Bolade pregnant abi? Don’t let me super task my brain from guessing, I shall wait for next edition. Well done!

    Reply

  19. Bomi
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 09:00:55

    Tfab take ur time ooo, u re just making me long for more and now am an addict to dis series and Moskeda wat happened in fish brains because Tfab also got me addicted to dat tooo. I love both ur writing sha. Cheers

    Reply

  20. famuyideolawale
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 09:09:46

    All hail the skipper. But Boye’s apology was very emotional. Nice twist. Thanks Toyin.

    Reply

  21. maxxokoedion
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 09:10:23

    skipper na that girl na. Na im. Lol
    well next episode….

    Reply

  22. ibukunawosika
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 09:28:00

    Nawa o. From frying pan to fire

    Reply

  23. fadunsin akinsola
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 09:29:41

    Lobatan is when skipper turns out to be Boladale……..This story is one of a kind,keep it up Toyin

    Reply

  24. Olayinka
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 09:31:12

    Na wah o.. Dis ppl sha.. Already dealing with multiple issues at the start of their marital trip.. Dis is going to be a very interesting life, if it ever lasts..

    Reply

  25. Yetundeadebiaye
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 09:40:11

    TY, I’ve learnt to stop second guessing you and your crazy stories! Hian, you wan gimme high blood pressure ne? Wetin be this na? Just when I thought you dey round up with the apologies and subsequent make up sex!

    Skipper? This one na killjoy ke! Another twist and turn. Another suspense. You know I keep thinking what’s next in my mind all week!

    Great episode as always. Thanks. I’m yet to get a proper invite oh! Ehn ehn!! Ehn!!! *sad face*

    Reply

  26. G
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 10:17:32

    Which one be ‘Skipper’ again? Jite badt gan ooooo.

    I will suggest something though….let’s allow Toyin to write all the episodes while we wait for not more than 2wks, and then she uploads all at once.

    Anyone with me? 🙂

    Reply

  27. luchea
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 10:37:59

    Started reading the series today, amazing!!!

    Reply

  28. Ayobami
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 11:06:52

    @ G – At all oh ..the suspense keeps one looking forward to the next episode.Nice one Toyin

    Reply

  29. Olufunmbi
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 11:15:52

    Oh! But why…? Who is skipper again nah…… Can’τ̲̅ wait for the next episode……. Good job madam

    Reply

  30. seunfunmi
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 11:39:22

    Hmmmmm,who’s Skipper again o? Guess is Bisade. Weldone Toyin#Bighug#

    Reply

  31. seunodukoya
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 11:46:20

    Na so we dey go o.

    Intrigue. Well done.

    Reply

  32. pgent
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 12:28:45

    which one be skipper again,i hope it’s not bisade o cos d gobe go 2 much

    Reply

  33. Anita
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 13:49:46

    Not again! Your doing a great work here.

    Reply

  34. tessadoghor
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 14:16:07

    It may seem stupid
    but I am a practical girl
    Ask him instead of eating your heart out.

    Looking forward to next week
    Its beginning to sound like those pace setter novels
    Can they get out of the bedroom already?
    Its like the setting doesn’t change any.

    Reply

  35. Abebi
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 15:53:33

    Really nice….

    Reply

  36. yeti
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 16:45:41

    Hmm….. Skipper? I think….

    Reply

  37. Demi
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 16:54:42

    I think skipper is either bola dale or bisade and whoever it is don get belle for bobo

    Reply

  38. Wale
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 19:45:42

    Gen gen! Who is Skipper again. Just when we thought the honeymoon was gonna turnout the way we imagined! Anyway what’s fiction without suspense…leaving u awaiting the next episode…nice work toyin

    Reply

  39. Anit
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 23:13:49

    Eh…….mmmmm……dis skipper tin,okoooo!!! nice one thou, lovely. Lets kip our finger crossd,cnt wait 4 nxt week

    Reply

  40. Maltesers addict
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 11:43:34

    OMG!! What is the problem now!! Jite is a useless man jor!! Who is skipper now!! I’m so upset right now..

    Reply

  41. Clarion
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 22:52:20

    Haaaaaaaay!!!! They finally did it! Yaaay! But please, not another skeleton in Jite’s closet…..mbanu….who da heck is skipper? will wait next episode with all eagerness! :*

    Reply

  42. Trackback: Not So Happily Married …. Episode Six | YNaija FICTION

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

