Not So Happily Married ……Episode Eight

Couple_ToyinFABBB

PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR PREVIOUS EPISODES

Some questions are not meant to be answered and most times the questioner knows the one who is being questioned does not have to answer. Some other questions however are meant to be answered and most times both the questioner and the one being questioned knows it. The latter were usually the hardest questions to answer; the type of questions whose answers stuck to the roof of one’s mouth; hard to spit out, yet harder to hold in.

Omoboye’s question had to be answered, she also expected it to be answered only I couldn’t answer not because I didn’t know the answer but because the question both enraged and hurt me. It told me in clear terms that I was neither forgiven nor trusted.  To be fair, it was only natural. I shouldn’t expect to be trusted and forgiven just like that. Omoboye wasn’t God, was she? Even God has to be beseeched to not remember one’s sins. My only wish was that she would talk to me about the bitterness or pain that might be left in her heart but it was as though there was a wall; a very thick one that stood between us.

It is funny how our roles became reversed in such a short while. I thought. Just some few weeks before, I had been the one who refused to forgive and just when I let go of my resentment and anger, Omoboye brought her own issues to fore.

She didn’t repeat the question. She didn’t even say her usual “have a nice day” when I dropped her off.

As I drove away, something told me she might have taken my silence as “Yes” and I felt like racing back to tell her the answer was no but I didn’t instead I thought of another way to answer her question. It seemed easier.

****

He didn’t answer my question.  Bisade must be pregnant. That was what I kept thinking as I walked into my make up studio. There was work to be done. My students were there waiting. They were supposed to have a practical session but I rescheduled it and locked myself up in my tiny office.

Anger coursed through my veins, I wanted so desperately to call him, vent all the anger that I felt. I wanted to curse Bisade to her face but I didn’t even know where she lived; I didn’t know where she worked. I knew next to nothing about her. I decided I could go home and rummage through some stuff and see if I would find the information I needed somewhere.

I didn’t know what exactly it was that I was looking for but I knew Jite had a box filled with papers on the top of our wardrobe. I decided to start my search from there.

The box was filled with letters, printed e-mails, photo albums, greeting cards and some notebooks.  I told myself I had a right to go through my husband’s stuff and so I began to read the letters.  The letters evoked several emotions in me and I forgot the pain I felt and the real reason for the search. Some of them made me laugh, some made me turn up my face in disgust and going through some, I felt pangs of jealousy. There were too many girls, some of them were familiar names but majority were names I had never heard of.  Jite and I had had  shared stories about exes while we were dating. He had told me there were too many to talk about but had mentioned the name of the notable ones.

I had what could pass for fun until I reached a Blue coloured envelope that had the word that had been giving me nightmares written on it in Jite’s handwriting. “SKIPPER”

I sat up immediately I saw it and began to open the envelope with shaky hands. It was filled with pictures taken in several cities of the world. Whoever you are Skipper; you are one heck of an Ajala the traveler. I murmured going over pictures with backgrounds like the Burj Al Arab, the Eiffel Tower, the statue of liberty….there were about sixteen pictures in all and Skipper looked exquisite in all of them. The pictures all had an inscription on the far right corner; “Love. Skipper”

“Who is Skipper?” I asked for what was could very well be the thousandth time?

“Why not ask Jite?” I thought

“Why ask him?”

“For your peace of mind, for your sanity, is it not better and easier to ask?”

“No, I don’t think I want to know. But still, I want to know.” I told myself sighing.

Skipper is beautiful; I had to admit that even though it was painful to admit it.  I stared at the one she took in Paris, in front of the Eiffel tower wondering why anyone could be that beautiful and why Jite had never mentioned her. Was she that special? She must be. He had even created a different envelope for her pictures. I stared at the pictures for another fifteen minutes trying to find a flaw – a crooked or broken teeth? K- leg?  dark spots?. I found nothing. There must be a flaw somewhere I concluded. No one could be this perfect.

I didn’t stop looking for faults until the words of the text message I read in Zanzibar and its implication jumped into my mind. Skipper was in Lagos and she didn’t know Jite was married, she hadn’t wished him a happy married life. I obsessed over that for a while before other thoughts set in. Those calls that he took in private and which always turned out to be from Skipper. Could it be they were already meeting? She must have told him she called and sent a message, how come he didn’t ask why they went missing on his phone? What does Skipper want from my man?

*****

Sweets,

Bisade is not pregnant, at least not for me. Like I told you earlier, we used protection. That’s not the only reason I know though. I have spoken to her after we came back from Zanzibar. I know I promised not to have anything to do with her again, but I felt like I needed to see her, I felt I needed to know there were no problems. I know how much it would hurt you if it turns out she was pregnant. I also needed to apologize to her because I feel like I used her. In case, you are wondering, we didn’t do more than talk.

She assured me I was forgiven and she wasn’t pregnant. Once again, I am sorry for this mess we are in. it was all my fault. If only I had forgiven you in the very beginning. My behavior was inexcusable. Omoboye I am sorry and I love you. Even in all this madness, I still love you. I must also add that I meant it when I said we should slow down on the pregnancy thing. I want you first before any other thing, and I mean it when I say it won’t matter if we never have children. I would still love you. We would adopt fifteen kids or whichever number you wish. Just don’t lose yourself in this mess. Let’s be happy babe.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      Jite

The idea of giving her a note sounded like what a coward would do and I had a feeling that Omoboye would feel the same way. Why do I find it so hard to talk to Omoboye about stuff? I wondered as I slipped the letter in my pocket. I knew it would be better to say those things to her face but I didn’t want to see the disbelief and distrust in her eyes. I could only hope that when she read it, she would think about it and believe me.

****

I wanted to burn the pictures along with Jite’s box but I felt that would be too dramatic. My mind was in turmoil and the unanswered questions kept revolving, who is Skipper and what was the urgent thing she needed to discuss with Jite. After over an hour of thinking about Skipper, I decided to leave the house. I didn’t want to face Jite not with the way I was feeling.

I also wanted him to suffer, wondering what could be going on in my mind.

I packed a bag and left for my Parents’ place. I knew Mom would want to ask why I wanted to sleep over at their place and I had a story ready. Jite was out of town.

****

Jite,

I would be at my Parents’s place. I will tell Mom you travelled. It shouldn’t be for long. I need to clear my head. We should talk when I get back. I will appreciate if you don’t come to the house or try to tell Mom what is really happening.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Take Care

I read the note for the third time and afterwards placed the one I drafted for her beside it. I wrote her a note, she wrote me a note. Only hers got delivered while mine couldn’t reach her. Are things this bad? I wondered. Why would Omoboye leave my house to clear her head in her father’s house? Did she not know how wrong that was? Every responsible and wise woman knows how wrong it is to leave her husband alone for any reason. I felt anger well up in me as I looked around the house, checking for things she might have packed to help give a clue on how long she might be gone. The wardrobe looked untouched; I could barely notice that anything was missing. That is good. I thought hopeful that it would be for a few days.

****

Being at my Parents’s place wasn’t fun, it was the reason I stopped living with them after graduating from the university. My mother was too bossy, too judgmental.

She had snorted when I told her Jite was out of town and I didn’t want to stay alone murmuring something about how the matter that a man says Baba must not hear would eventually be settled by Baba. I had ignored her, pretending I didn’t hear her words.

I stumbled on “I didn’t know I was pregnant” the day I got to my parents’ place. Mum usually slept before 9pm and that gets reduced to 8pm on days when Dad wasn’t around which was usually five days in a week given that he worked in Ibadan. After Mom slept, I saw a movie until 11pm and turned in for the night but I couldn’t sleep, I kept tossing around.

At first I thought it was because the air conditioning was too much but I later realized it was something different, something that brought tears to my eyes. I was missing my husband. It’s amazing how something you have done all your life suddenly becomes alien. Before marriage, I had slept alone without any discomfort but there I was without my husband for just one night and all I could think of was how soothing it would be to have him beside me.

After two hours of trying for sleep, I went back to the sitting room. I scanned the stations to see if there was any program that would interest me.  It was while checking through  the channels that I saw “I didn’t know I was pregnant”. The cases the program featured were a bit different from mine but it was still similar in a way. These were women who didn’t know they were pregnant until the day they started having contractions. One of the cases I watched that night was someone whose baby just dropped on the floor of their sitting room. I was excited. Perhaps I was pregnant after all. The only difference was I suspected I was pregnant while they never had a clue. anorexia

Their stomach size didn’t increase while mine was increasing. They didn’t have symptoms while I was having symptoms but still I was glad to see the programme. Perhaps my contractions would just start one day and my baby will drop too. If I was pregnant, it would be around two months. That is too early for other people to notice, isn’t it?  I thought excitedly. I slept happy after that confident that I was truly pregnant and ignoring the tiny part of me that was still in doubt.

****

I didn’t talk to Omoboye until the third day after she left the house. It wasn’t because I wanted to honor her wishes and not call. It was because I couldn’t. Her phones were switched off and I know she would be upset if I called her Mom. I knew very well how much she hated people thinking there was anything wrong with her life. When the call went through, I didn’t ask why she switched off or why she didn’t contact me, I just asked how she was doing.

She assured me she was fine and would be home soon.

“Jite, I feel much better now. She said. I should be home in two days time. There is so much we need to talk about when we see. I have some questions I need answers to.”

“How about I come to your Mum’s place?”

“No, you can’t do that. She would wonder why. She already suspects that we have issues.”

“Okay. I understand. But Boye, why don’t you just come home today. I have missed you so much. This house is empty without you.”

“I hear you Jite but I would like to stay for two more days. However, there is an option. You could come around late this night and say you had to cut short your trip. Make sure it’s really late so that we can say we would rather sleep over instead of going back to the house.”

“That’s okay with me Boye. I can do that.”

“Jite” She called in a tone that made my heart skip a beat.

“Yes love”. I answered half hoping she would say I love you.

“We would be sleeping in separate rooms and don’t ask me why.”

With that she dropped the call, I didn’t have a chance to respond, not that I would have said anything. I was still very worried about her state of mind and was prepared to do anything it would take to make her happy.

****

After Jite and I spoke, I decided it was time to talk to Boladale. Although I hadn’t deleted her contact on my Blackberry messenger and phone, I wasn’t picking her calls; neither was I acknowledging her messages.

I called her up that afternoon and informed her I would like to see her. She asked if I would like to come to her office and I said I would prefer if we met at a Sweet Sensation outlet close to her office.

She hugged me as soon as she saw me and I hugged her back. It was a bit awkward but I smiled at her. I needed her to think we were cool.

“Babe, what’s up? How is married life? I don’t even need to ask, I can see you are glowing.” She added.

Something about our friendship had changed. Before the pregnancy issue Boladale and I could talk for hours about just anything but there we were acting like two siblings who were meeting for the first time.

“I am fine Bola. I am sorry I wasn’t picking your calls, I was just so annoyed with you but I am past that now. I don’t want to sacrifice our friendship because of something so trivial.”

“Thank you Boye. Thank you. This makes me feel so better.”

“It’s okay. No problems at all.”

“Boye, I didn’t tell you everything the other day. I want to tell you now but promise me you would forgive me.”

“Bola, I can’t make a promise when I don’t know what’s involved.”

“Omoboye, please promise me.”

“Boladale I can’t promise you.”

“Hmm, either way I just have to say it. I have to lift this terrible burden off my shoulders. When I am done saying this, Boye you can kill me and I would deserve it.”

“Boladale, what is it that you have to say?” I asked in an impatient voice.

“Remember, when I said the father of my unborn baby is a married colleague, I didn’t mention that he is someone close to you. Someone very close to you.”

I shivered, a sudden cold enveloping me. It was as though a bucket of chilled water was poured on me. “Someone close to me, someone very close to me. Someone that is your colleague” I murmured.

“No, Boladale.” I shrieked, flying out of my seat as comprehension set in.

49 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jane
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 05:43:23

    This lady yaff started again ☺º°˚˚°ºoo… See high bp early morning. Wonder who d strange Boladale’s lover might be, buh toyin A̶̲̥̅♏ very sure its not Jite, ɣ☺ΰ can trick ♍ε̲̣̣̣̥ into belivin dat @all.. Anyway, gud job as usual.. Ɣ☺ΰ r jst a genius, oya take dis hug *big hug* tnx 4 makin my wednesdays

    Reply

  2. Isaacola AA
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 05:46:04

    Um, Toyin you are wicked! So I have to wait for another week to know the father of Boladele unborn child(ren).

    Fingers will point normally at Jite but with your wicked twist and turn, it can also be the father inlaw of Jite.

    My fingers are crossed o.

    Good one though boss

    Reply

  3. Ibk
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:01:39

    TOYIN!!!!!!!! Dis tin u are doing issnoh fear º°˚ 😦
    The suspense is too much na… I wee fight you º°˚ *mean face*
    Moving on.. Good job on today’s piece *thumbs up*
    Me thinks Boye’s dad is Bola’s baby daddy 🙂
    As usual, can’t wait for wednesday to come.

    Reply

  4. che-koh!
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:07:46

    See high bp O°˚˚˚. Toyin dear, you will not kill me today!! Can’t wait for next wednesday. Magnificent!

    Reply

  5. damstylee
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:18:04

    Hmmm *fingers crossed*

    Reply

  6. Mz Greene
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:19:45

    Early morning high stage. Not 9c sis…..lol. not 9c @ all. Now how on earth am I to imagine/think/assume who the father of that unborn child is?????**wondering out loud****. 9c twist tho.

    Reply

  7. abluckyi
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:20:28

    ohoooooooooohhhhhh! yaff start again. my heart is pacing fast from morning drill n just when i tthought ur story wld help here it goes faster….keep it up sha. i’m not sure i’d b reading ur story if that twist was lost.

    Reply

  8. Yetundeadebiaye
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:22:20

    Hian! Ahan! Oooooh! Not again na! Who?! Who?! Who?!!!!??? Lemme take a wild guess… Nobody comes to mind. So after seeing Skipper’s pictures, there’s no recognition? So who’s Skipper? Now, who’s close, very close that is responsible for this pregnancy? A whole week? I mean I’ve to wait one full week to get answers and then I’m sure I’ll have dozens of questions again! Not fair oh, not fair!

    Reply

  9. amaeze
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:36:48

    Aha!!!!!! So skipper was a diversion.Keep it up. I see another twist in the tale

    Reply

  10. Tomisin Ajiboye
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:43:04

    Sigh!

    Reply

  11. cocosgist
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:51:38

    TOYIN!!! I don’t know who the father is but I know who it isn’t…however, like you, I shall tell next week & hope I am right.

    Reply

  12. G
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 06:55:09

    Lobatan!!! Yam pepper scatter scatter! (Isu ata yanyan).

    Why do I have that Jet Li picture in my head right now? Hahahahaha!!

    Reply

  13. Debfunkky
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 07:00:21

    Suspense…

    Reply

  14. Funmi Bankole
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 07:52:50

    Oh no! @toyinfab you didn’t just do that

    Reply

  15. uneñameji
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 07:55:28

    I will not dream this night and complete this story o! Abeg who is this colleague biko?

    Reply

  16. Damilola Aasa
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 08:10:50

    This toyin geh is just wicked sha! Early in the morning! Arrgggghhhh!

    Reply

  17. Maltesers addict
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 08:14:20

    OMG!! Jite is the father of that baby right.. Wow.. Who is skipper anyways??

    Reply

    • grace
      Aug 21, 2013 @ 11:29:02

      Can’t be Jite jor….haba,he is not bola’s colleague and jite is so sure he is clean.dt Boye geh is just psyched.mtcheeww

      Reply

  18. Olufunmbi
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 08:33:24

    No….. But why, this is outright wickedness…….. OMG, can’τ̲̅ wait for nxt week’s episode. I̶̲̥̅̊ just hope its nt Jite or Boye’s father….. Lolzzzz, wild thoughts….. Let skipper be revealed nxt week, I̶̲̥̅̊ beg of ​U̶̲̥̅̊ Ãήϑ Bola’s baby daddy!

    Reply

  19. Damilare Awe
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 08:55:49

    Dear aunty Toyin, can u just mail me the rest of the story? Wednesday seems to be very far! No it is VERY far! *shines teeth*

    Reply

  20. besimpleneyo
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 09:02:50

    Toyin, u no fit change ur mind and post 4episodes in a week.. habatically, I go turn am to prayer point o. Good job ma’am.

    Reply

  21. Olabisi
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 09:03:30

    Toyin my BP remain d same, u can’t kill me wit suspense shogbooooo

    Reply

  22. Owolabi Deborah
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 09:27:02

    Stop all dis na!

    Reply

  23. pgent
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 09:42:35

    if i hear say na jite get boladele belle,omo e no go funny,am sure boye go kill her self….nice work toyinfab

    Reply

  24. olajumoke
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 09:44:19

    Can’t stop laughing,I knw is nt Omoboye’s husband.Can’t wait to knw who it is.Kudos to u T,,,,,,,,,,, this is a nice piece

    Reply

  25. liz
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 10:58:28

    Hmm…………..*sad*

    Reply

  26. Skipper
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 11:13:49

    And more questions. All these secrets would be exposed someday, I know. Chilling with my popcorn and coke in the mean time…

    Reply

  27. grace
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 11:35:11

    Someone very close to her……mayb her dad or broda,bur not her husby sha.Tfabs…..take time ooo!!!haba!!!!tanks for making my wednesdays.

    Reply

  28. toyinalabi
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 11:44:20

    Wow, full of suspense….lol.

    Reply

  29. fapohunda abimbola
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 12:15:50

    Nice work! Good suspense.

    Reply

  30. Anit
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 12:21:40

    Ah b4 it was skipper now na colleague……….dis is high bp ohoo, nd 2 tink dat i ve 2 wat until wednesday. Hmmm……dis suspense is trilling i love………..e it

    Reply

  31. herbby
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 13:18:54

    U don start again abi……U shuld av @least mention d person’s name ☹……d suspense is gud sha, datz wah make d story intresting….luv it

    Reply

  32. Hillary
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 14:18:18

    Ha! Not again!…….. This one week wait long o. Nice one! Will be counting down to the next episode

    Reply

  33. oscarpoems
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 16:22:20

    Okay, okay, I’ll be very kind to myself and not guess *prepares gari and groundnut*, I’ll just relax till next week. That’s the bestest thing to do

    Reply

  34. famuyideolawale
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 16:31:20

    Well, I first read the last paragraph before I read the entire article. I can not “come and go and die” of anxiety. Toyin queen of suspense. Weldone o. ( ˘̶̀ ̯˘̶́)

    Reply

  35. elo
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 16:36:11

    Gosh!!!!!!!!! Am shivering already,,can’t wait for the episode

    Reply

  36. Sagay
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 18:07:02

    This one will just keep a story hanging. shior!

    Reply

  37. fabunmi Tolani
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 19:16:48

    Infact my blood was already boiling, dis supense is mushhhhhhhhh o. Till next week sha, my fingers are crossed. Nice work sis…

    Reply

  38. seunfunmi
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 21:47:41

    Thanks for making my wednesday,can’t wait for d nxt episode. Weldone!

    Reply

  39. Mrs Kogberegbe
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 09:28:44

    *sigh* shey this Omoboye wee not kee herself with ‘ara gbigbona’ now ehn?
    But errrm…… Can we av the next episode this saturday? ;;) 😀

    Reply

    • toyinfabs
      Aug 22, 2013 @ 12:58:22

      Hello Madam, How is Detective Kogberegbe? Help tell him we can’t wait to hear from him on Saturday

      Reply

  40. haywhy
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 20:13:23

    You won’t kill me o dis gurl!!!!

    Reply

  41. Dennis Agyeman
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:36:45

    High blood pressure. My Doctor has warned me seriously against reading your stories.

    Reply

  42. Bukky-blez
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 22:44:09

    This is rily interesting… Toyin I love ur suspense character… Can’t wait for the next episode.

    Reply

  43. Ifeoluwa idowu
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 07:47:23

    I mistakenly stumbled on this piece.
    Well done…
    Please which day the week do you post your stories and how can I access it ?
    Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

Iconsnest's Blog

Love. Culture. Food

