Not So Happily Married ……. Episode Ten

Hi All,

We have done Ten episodes so far. I can hardly believe this. That means TEN WEEKS. Wow! Thank you for being here every week. I love you. Mwaaaah.

This Episode is dedicated to my brand new Nephew. Mobolaji Oluwadamisi Omoikudu Daniel-Bello. Aunty Toyin loves you so very much. May God always be your strength and shield. Amen.

black-couple-laying-on-bed-460x276

        PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR PREVIOUS EPISODES

She walked towards me with her arms outstretched and combined with the smile on her face; you would think I was her long lost sister.

So this calls for a hug? I asked myself as she wrapped her hands around me. Still smiling she drew back and inspected me from head to toe.

She turned to Jite when she was done. He was still looking angry but she acted like she didn’t notice.

“Jite, you picked a very pretty one this time.” She said giving him what looked to me like an intimate smile.

That is it. I am done. I thought clenching my teeth. Who told her she could date my man behind my back and still act patronizing?

“Jite, I am leaving, I will see you later.” I said walking away.

I didn’t look back to see his expression but if he had called my name I would have heard.

******

You would think I was dumb. I didn’t say a word throughout the encounter, not even when Omoboye walked away. Skipper left right after Omoboye did giving me a jubilant look before she entered her car.

Is our marriage jinxed? I thought as I sat back inside the car. Why is it that every time we make some progress something happens that reverses it all? The weekend was supposed to be spent in relaxation. We were supposed to talk and sort all our issues but then Skipper decided to show up. How did she even know where we were? I wondered. Was she tailing me? It wasn’t something that was beyond her. She was psychotic enough to do worse.

Skipper! She was someone I had hoped Omoboye would never meet. She was someone I never wanted to have anything to do with. Again.

We met during my one year National Youth Service. I was determined to marry her and have three kids with her all in the first five minutes that we met. It was a classic case of Infatuation at first sight even though at that time I thought it was Love. I had been standing under the sun for hours waiting to be registered for the orientation camp and there were just about ten more people before it would be my turn when this lady walked up to me pleading with her eyes that she would like to enter the space in front of me. It wasn’t like she needed to plead, I was taken already just by looking into her eyes. Who wouldn’t? Not with her kind of looks. She had the kind of face, frame, skin and body that you get when you mix Edo, Igbo and Fulani genes.

I didn’t even think it through; I just motioned for her to get in. It didn’t matter that I had to contend with the other people on the queue especially the females. I made feeble attempts to make up a story about how she had been there before but the looks they shot me said they understood why I couldn’t say no.

I stayed glued to her even after registration. I was the dude who took her bags to the female hostel, the one who ensured that she got two buckets of clean water every day. I also took her feeding as my responsibility. She didn’t like the food served in the dining hall. She said it wasn’t up to standard, I agreed with her. She was too beautiful to eat the kind of food they served and so I took care of breakfast, lunch, dinner and the snacks and drinks she took whenever we were on the parade ground. She rewarded me with her attention; we spent almost every free time together. We wouldn’t go to our respective hostels even after the bells for lights out had been rung. We would remain entwined in one of the numerous dark corners until a Soldier chanced upon us or sleep became too hard to hold.

She wanted me to make love to her the first day we met. I declined. I believed she was too beautiful for that. I told her she was a delicious dish that one was meant to savor. She didn’t seem too happy about that and by the third day she threatened to give her attention to other guys who needed it. And so I obliged her even though I would have preferred that we do it on a regular bed. We had to make do with the parade ground and concrete floors. That first day and on subsequent days she brought a wrapper along from her hostel room which we spread on the floor or field whenever we wanted to make love. I told her how I felt, but she laughed it off saying we weren’t the only ones after all. I felt she was more beautiful and classier than all those other girls and I told her so but still it made no difference. That was when I started hearing the alarm bell that must have been ringing the moment she started pestering me for sex. What kind of girl does not mind being slept with on a parade ground? But I ignored my fears and we continued our escapades.

It wasn’t until we got posted to the same ministry and we started living together that I realized she was a sex addict. Skipper just had to have sex; nothing could stand in her way. Not menstrual periods, not fasting, not Malaria or Typhoid, not even having an audience. Nothing. I couldn’t keep up and wanted to break the relationship but I couldn’t not after she told me she had borderline personality disorder and could commit suicide if I left her. So I was stuck with her for the rest of the service year. I was ecstatic as NYSC drew to an end especially after she told me her parents wanted her to go for her Masters programme in Cyprus.

We parted on the passing out parade ground. She made me promise I was going to call her every day. I made the promise and a host of others that I had no intention of keeping. I liked her a lot, she was and is still very beautiful but she was much more than I could handle. She however wouldn’t let me be. She became my official stalker, I had to close my Facebook account and even change my email address because of her but still she always had a way to get in touch. She would use my Mom, friends and anyone else that could give her access to me. That went on for two years and then there was silence. Three years of silence. No calls, no mails. Nothing, until the day Omoboye and I got back from Zanzibar.

My heart had skipped a beat when I saw “Incoming call from Skipper” on my phone. I was never going to delete her number; I wanted to always know it was her calling so I could ignore the call. But that day I picked it and then she screamed my name saying how glad she was to have found me again. I didn’t ask why she had to call after I had given thanks to God that she was gone forever. She apologized for not keeping in touch for so long saying that after her Masters programme she took up a humanitarian job in Asia, something that had to do with educating children in remote villages. So why did you leave the needy children of Asia or did you just wake up one morning and realized there were children with greater needs in Africa? I wanted to ask her that but I didn’t instead I asked why she was calling.

“Jite that hurts me; you shouldn’t be asking me that. You are the only man I have ever loved and you know that. It wasn’t like I ever forgot you, I thought of you all the time and when I got back I wanted to call but I decided it wasn’t time yet. But then a few days ago, I was quite bored and I decided to check a blog that a friend told me about. Going through the blog, I saw a link about some popular make up artist’s wedding and when I opened the link I saw you Jite.”

She said the last few words in a pained voice. I knew what was coming even before it started.

“Why Jite? Why would you marry another woman? That should have been me you were holding Jite. We had so much promise. But anyway let’s leave all that. I think I am over it now, although I cried for hours after seeing your wedding pictures, but I am fine really. I will just like you to do me a favor. Can I meet her? I will like us to be friends.”

“Friends ke? I wouldn’t even allow you guys to meet.” I replied ending the call. But Skipper kept calling every day and her request was the same every time. She wanted to meet my wife.

I started the car deciding it was better to go look for Omoboye. I decided to go the house praying I would meet her there. I could imagine what was going through her mind. She probably thought the pregnancy Skipper was carrying was mine.

Why is it so easy for my wife to believe the worst of me? I am so not trusted. I sighed driving away from the Supermarket.

*******

Getting a cab wasn’t hard, there was a taxi park few yards from the Supermarket and I hopped into the first one I saw.

“Where?” He asked.

“Just keep driving towards Ajah.”

“Where in Ajah?”

“Just keep moving.”

“We charge 2,000 naira for anywhere in Ajah oo.”

“You talk too much o jare. Just move the car.”

I was calm. It was strange. My typical reaction would have been to cry or tear my hair out. But I was calm. I knew what I had to do. It was to get out of Lagos for a few days. I needed to be out of Jite’s reach at least for a few days and I knew just where to go. Calabar. I should have been there that weekend. There was a fashion and beauty exhibition organized by an international clothing line that was being held in Tinapa and I had been invited together with the photographer I work with. Femi.

He had been excited about us going together but I had declined thinking it would be better to spend the weekend with Jite.

Calabar is where I need to be. I decided. I gave the cab driver the directions to our house praying I would be able to pack my things before Jite would get home. I placed a call to Femi and was glad he hadn’t left. He was about leaving for the airport and I told him to get me a ticket and come pick me up on his way to the airport.

However, there was something else I needed to do before I leave. A pregnancy test. It was time to know I decided. If Skipper was pregnant then it was only fair that I should be pregnant too. Let’s see who Jite will pick between his wife and mistress. I thought.

I was glad to see Jite wasn’t around when I got home. I had a short time for everything I wanted to do. Jite could come home any minute. I had bought some Pregnancy test strips on my way to the house and grabbing three, I rushed into our bathroom.

Fifteen minutes and three used strips later, I had what had to be the result in my hand. It was negative. There is nothing in this stomach after all. I murmured. I had no idea how much I wanted to be pregnant until that moment.

“Three months and you are not pregnant. You are barren Boye.” I wailed images of several childless women that I knew flashing across my vision.

47 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lawalaboladefatai
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 05:34:50

    Skipper o o o o o

    Reply

  2. Ibk
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 05:38:23

    Whew! So Skipper is a psychotic sex addict? Lol
    But that Jite is stupid sha. He just stood there. He should have hugged his wife when he saw the Skipper thing or run after his wife when she walked away.. Mumu man! He’s now wondering why his wife always believes the worst of him…

    By the way, is it just me or is this particular episode shorter than the others? Madam Toyin abeg, don’t shorten the episodes º°˚. Infact, pls make them longer 🙂
    Wonderful piece as usual, patiently waiting for next week’s episode.

    Reply

  3. Maltesers addict
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:03:19

    Good work!! Jite should get home before she leaves please.. Waiting for next week wednesday..

    Reply

  4. larah
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:03:24

    Ohhhh! Madam Tee.not again,,,dis episode is soo short or is it my imagination?haba waiting till nextwk for another episode…kip it up sis.jite just keep complicating issues.mumu dude!

    Reply

  5. toyinalabi
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:12:10

    Wow! we r getting somewia, at least skipper is not pregnant for Jite. Keep it up

    Reply

  6. Jane
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:32:18

    Wow!!!!! Dis is getting hotter…. Amazing as usual… Gud job Toyin. Let dis couple jst resolve their issue once and for all

    Reply

  7. cocosgist
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:34:26

    Simply ask questions, you ding bat!!!

    Reply

  8. Taiwo
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:42:47

    Well done Toyin!!! Atleast we now know who skipper is! And that she’s not the love of Jite’s life! Whew!!!

    Reply

  9. dazeetah
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:47:21

    Sigh!

    Reply

  10. fabunmi Tolani
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:47:59

    Oga o, just hope he meets her at home on time cus I dnt trust the femi guy o. Nice one this week, can’t wait till next week

    Reply

  11. enajyte
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:48:13

    Somebody must be pregnant for Jite o. After all this build up? Nice episode. May your ink never run dry and your battery last longer. 🙂

    Reply

  12. olabisi
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:48:48

    Episode too short Toyin!

    Reply

  13. moskeda
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:57:12

    Boye is so immature. How can she just leave like that. A woman should never threaten her like that na. And she can like to jump into unnecessary conclusion. She shd do and go to her calabar jor. Drama queen
    Madam Toyin, until we carry placard to tell u to elongate the episodes before u do, abi? See me see dis woman o
    Anyways, I loved it, darl. U made my morning 😀

    Reply

  14. Ustyn
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:57:59

    I dnt knw if its only me that observe dis…it seems dis Jite guy is a mummy’s boy’,he doesnt act lyk a man talkless of a married one 4 dat matter,wish their marriage wht they wish it

    Reply

  15. Olufunmbi
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 07:09:02

    This episode is shorter jhor, ahan ah, waiting for nxt week’s episode. Nice job ma’am.

    Reply

  16. seunodukoya
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 07:11:35

    Maybe I’ll just keep my thoughts in check till I read the last episode…

    Toyin; just so you know, I read this one and liked it. Well done.

    Reply

  17. famuyideolawale
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 07:31:22

    I agree the previous comment that this episode is short o madame Toyin. Anyway, skipper is more like I’ve imagined. Next…waiting

    Reply

  18. che-koh!
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 07:42:14

    A big mumu!!! Are u sure jite cares abt boye’s feelings at all. Nawa O°˚˚˚. Zero communication. This is what kills relationships.

    Reply

  19. che-koh!
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 07:50:18

    And boye is always running at the slightest wahala. Its annoying. Toyin darling, u’v done it again. And since dis episode is short I believe d nxt episode will be double!!!!! Don’t disappiont

    Reply

  20. oscarpoems
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 07:52:51

    Both of them sef…Communication is just a big deal for them sha.
    That Calabar waka no go jus bear better fruit if Oga no meet Boye for house wallahi.
    What do I know sef? Wednesday can like to come in the next few minutes jare.
    Good 1 here Toyin…

    Reply

  21. Trackback: Not So Happily Married ……. Episode Ten | YNaija FICTION
  22. jummy
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 08:17:31

    *whew*

    Reply

  23. yougeecash
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 09:00:28

    Interesting episode with very important lessons. The issue with these two is they are always assuming, always jumping to conclusions, especially Omoboye. If you love someone truly, you would not be quick to believe the worst of them. you would ask straightforward questions and wait for explanations.
    Great job but like others mostly noted, pretty short episode 🙂

    Reply

  24. G
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 09:35:47

    Skippo!!!! As a badt girl 🙂

    Just goes to show how much asking the right questions can go a long way instead of assuming stuff.

    Unto next week.

    Reply

  25. Sarafina
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 09:37:13

    This is why its good to always open up to your partner! Why can’t Jite simply tell his wife about Skipper?
    Good job as usual TeeY.

    Reply

  26. yeti
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 09:46:44

    Jite! Why u dey always fall my hand na? What kind of man are you hmm?

    Reply

  27. Amina ibrahim
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 10:54:41

    *wipes sweat* ……shortest episode ever! Well done ma’am….

    Reply

  28. Isaacola AA
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 12:11:44

    Mmm, skipper skipper!
    Where there is no absolute trust in marriage, all kinds of suspicions both founded and unfounded.

    I pity Boye, she will be an emotional wreck soon.

    Reply

  29. Yetundeadebiaye
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 12:57:30

    So Skipper isn’t a relative or a mistress afterall!!!! TY, you’re so unpredictable! Always creating twists and turns. Great piece, I’ll keep on saying! Welldone!!!

    Reply

  30. anafricandiva
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 14:27:54

    Woooow! Toyin, you are truly gifted. Thank God I’m not the only one who noticed how short this episode is. Please you have to compensate us next week, thanks!!

    Reply

  31. St Naija
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 15:12:37

    Skippermatically! Well done Toyinfab. 🙂

    Reply

  32. josy
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 15:16:07

    waiting for next Wednesday. ….

    Reply

  33. naijawife
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 15:59:00

    “not even malaria” could stop her. wowsers.
    This episode reminds me of why people should talk about their past before they marry o. That way no “skipper” type surprises later on!

    Reply

  34. Ayoade
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 17:36:46

    I’m so happy the pregnancy isn’t Jite’s. See what communication gap can cause. We all need to learn from this. Next episode please.

    Reply

  35. Biola
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 19:59:18

    Haba,Habatically!!! Boye likes drama o,whew! When will she learn to stand her ground,fight for her marriage and stop jumping into conclusions?
    Sister toyin,its getting shorter!!!!

    Reply

  36. amaeze
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 20:39:44

    Wish I had skipper in my arms.lmao

    Reply

  37. Celine emodi
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 08:11:38

    I want more!!! Pls let d next post b till d end, cos d suspense is too much.

    Reply

  38. Yaz
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 12:01:13

    They both have issues. Is this what marriage does to people?

    Reply

  39. dakpemien
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 21:19:17

    Pls, I can’t get access to the first 5 episodes. Am so hooked up to the story like I’m on drugs

    Reply

  40. iamtimayin
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 04:52:42

    Hmmmmmm so skipper was

    ..

    Reply

  41. Hillary
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 14:46:18

    Hmmm …….. fingers crossed till the next episode..nice one but this one short o!

    Reply

  42. Keke
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 21:01:55

    But Omoboye is so quick to get angry, and most of the time the anger is just over nothing. Even if she’s going to get angry, she should demand for an explanation from her hubby. We are talking about marriage here for God sake

    Reply

  43. edun halimat
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 22:02:15

    Nyc

    Reply

  44. Trackback: Homepage
  45. Chinny
    Jul 01, 2014 @ 11:31:04

    guess am a late comer but am so enjoying the series. Toyin, you are really good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

