Why I Said No…….

In case you missed ” Why I Said Yes” Please click to read: http://toyinfabs.WordPress.com/2013/05/11/why-i-said-yes/

imagesCAPYJ028

He was sated; that much was clear from the dreamy look in his eyes and the lazy way he sprawled on the bed. He was so easy to read, too easy. He lived his entire life with his eyes that sometimes I imagined how easy it would be to understand him if he were dumb, all you had to do was look into his eyes.

“I love you so much baby.” He said placing emphasis on the baby. Of course he loved me so much, he always did after sex. If he did the other times, I never find out, I never failed to give an automatic response of; “I love you too TaiTai.”

I like calling him TaiTai, I preferred that to Taiwo. It was the name his late Grandma called him, he claims she coined it specially for him and won’t allow anyone except her to call him the name. That was until I entered his life and I decided I prefer it to Taiwo. He allowed me because he had claimed that I was the only one who came close to replacing his grandmother in his affections. That had been said in his lucid moments, in post coital moments however, he would claim I was the only person he has ever loved.

“I love you baby”. He repeated licking his lips.

“I love you too.” TaiTai I replied rolling my eyes inwardly, how come no one ever told him licking his lips made him look like an imbecile. I wasn’t satisfied at all, He came when I was just building momentum but then it wasn’t so important because in the two years we had been together, he had never managed to satisfy me. The funny thing was how he would swear on his life that he was the best I ever had, he had good reason to brag; I had perfected the art of faking orgasms.

“Rate me Babe.”

There we go again, I thought. How come men who are poor in bed always come up with that phrase? Dude, you seriously don’t want an honest rating. I thought. If I gave him 40% it would have been out of generosity.

“85%.” I replied masking the lie with a smile and purring to add effect.

“85%? I thought I passed the 100th mark today.”

“And why would you think that?”

“Because I know how much hard work I did today, see me sweating in spite of the air conditioner being on 18 degrees.”

“Ehn ehn”

“What’s Ehn ehn, you don’t think I deserve more than 85%?”

“Actually, TaiTai you do, it’s just that I don’t want your head to swell too much.”

“Silly Girl.” He replied drawing me close to his chest.

“Marry me.” He whispered.

“What did you say?” I replied drawing back.

“I said you should marry me. Please baby, marry me.”

“Seriously?”

“Yeah seriously. Shouldn’t you be screaming Yes, Yes by now?” He added smiling.

“Really?”

“Yes really. Haven’t you ever given our getting married a thought?”

“Not really.”

“Not really?” You mean you have never daydreamt about being married to me?”

“It’s not about you Taiwo, It’s about me not thinking about marriage yet.”

“At 28? Why does that sound so incredible? This is supposed to be something you want more than anything else at this stage of your life.”

“Well…..” I shrugged.

“Anyway, now that I have made you think about it, will you marry me?”

“Why are you even asking me this right now? I am not even seeing a ring Taiwo.”

“I will get that later. This is just something I have a strong urge to do right now. Meanwhile, why are you calling me Taiwo?” He asked frowning as he sat up on the bed.

“I don’t know maybe because of the seriousness of the topic.”

“Really baby, what’s so serious and complex about accepting to marry the man you love?”

“I don’t know. I just feel this isn’t really you, I think it is your third leg talking.”

“I swear to you Titi, I mean it. Olorun ngbo.”

“If it’s about the ring, I will get you the finest ever. The stone will, be Ruby, your birthstone. I will get the best for you and ask you again in a more appropriate way but please say yes.”

“Hmmm…”

“Hmm, what? Say yes now Titilola.”

“No, Taiwo. I mean no, I can’t say yes right now.”

“But why baby?” he said touching my shoulders with both palms and looking into my eyes.

“I treat you well; I show you care, love and attention every day, every minute. I go out of my way to make you happy, I think about you every minute of the day, I buy you the cutest things ever, and I constantly give you mind blowing orgasms most women will die to experience just once.”

“What else makes a man a husband material?”

“So much more Taiwo, as for the orgasms I won’t even go into that because I don’t want to upset you.”

“What do you mean by that?”

“Don’t worry Taiwo, it’s not important. Let’s focus on the big issue.”

“It’s important o baby. Are you trying to say you would prefer if I didn’t make you come with that much intensity every time? Because if that’s what you are saying I will understand. I recently read an article where they made mention of a research that suggests women do get tired of orgasms especially when they are too intense.”

Ohhhh….crap. This guy is so conceited. I thought.

“Like I said, let’s leave that. I will tell you the major reason I am not so willing to be married to you.”

“What is that?” He asked moistening his lips.

“You are mean.”

“Me? Mean? Jokes.” A look of how can you even say something that preposterous on his face.

“Yes you are mean. It’s not a joke and the problem is that I don’t like how my tears never affect you. For a girl who cries over movies, it’s a big one. Everyone I know gets affected by a girl’s tears and would do anything to wipe them away. Everyone I know but you. You would rather whistle or sit down to drink hot chocolate licking your lips in glee while I cry.”

“But babe that’s when we have….”

“Don’t even go there. Don’t tell me it’s when we have a fight. Fight or not, my crying should affect you. Even if you were annoyed, the anger should evaporate at my distress.”

“I mean Tai, we would have quarrels and I will be there crying my heart out, wailing with mucus trickling out of my nose in a stream like fashion and you would just walk around or sit somewhere unaffected. I can’t live the rest of my life like that. It’s always been one reason I know we can’t be married.”

“Is that it? Is that why you don’t want to be married to me? Because it’s a small thing then, I can change. In fact, I promise henceforth that when you as much as grimace, my whole world will crumble in response. I will make sure you never have a reason to cry but if you ever do, I will wipe your tears and make you smile again.”

“Sweet words Tai but it still won’t work. Somehow I am convinced that you can’t really love me. You might not have noticed but you only say you love me after we have made love.”

“You know I love you Titi. Why are you making this so hard? If I didn’t love you why would I want to marry you? If you think I don’t, why are you still with me?”

“Good questions. I have been wondering why you want to marry me since you didn’t love me. As for why I am with you, ever heard of the stop gap theory? Managing what you have in hand while you look out and wait for the better or best.”

“Oh really? He said. His eyes taking on a “fuck you, who do you think you are” look. Since you don’t love me, then I probably don’t love you too. Perhaps I just want to marry you because of all the ladies I ever had sex with you are the best.

“Perhaps.” I replied. Smiling to let him know I wasn’t hurt by his words. I stood up then to retrieve my dress from the bedroom floor. I didn’t bother with my undies but just crammed them in my handbag, hurriedly putting on my wrap dress.

“How about we forget I proposed and get on with the relationship then?”

“Sorry Taiwo, we have passed that stage now with all the honesty we’ve displayed this morning.” I picked my bag and walked to the door.

Just because I couldn’t resist, I gave a parting shot as I reached the bed room door.

Turning back I said;

“Besides, the sex is very bad. I fake it all the time. Yeah, I faked it every single time. No exception. I added enjoying the shocked look on his face before I closed the door after me.

images-3

images-4

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ustyn
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 13:27:13

    Toyin i thought u werent going to do your best again,here you come with it,reality check for singles out there,….the gal harsh o,but she is sincere

    Reply

  2. Lois
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 14:05:59

    Lovely

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Why I Said No……. – Y! Fiction
  4. Isaacola AA
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 20:50:43

    a little more dose of sincerity is needed for any relationship to thrive. both are just ..

    Reply

  5. Eli
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 21:03:34

    Amazing piece, as always Toyin.
    I must ask the general public though – “why do ladies fake orgasms rather than state clearly their level of satisfaction or lack of it? Is that really an attempt to help the guy’s ego or a bid to keep the guy in the meantime as bad sex is better than none?”
    Please follow my blog abluckyi.wordpress.com. Just published my first post and your comments will help a long way in it’s improvement.

    Reply

  6. Bola
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 11:27:15

    Jeez! That was harsh……..but I believe the guy got what he deserves sha

    Reply

  7. tessadoghor
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 17:38:08

    Hmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

naijawriter

Read Laugh Love

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

