Baby Simone……by Anjola Olukoga

 

 

maternity-photographs1

This was written by a friend who claims not to be a writer but was inspired by the life growing inside her.

I hope this makes you go “Awwwww”….as it made me.

 

 

………Baby Simone

Science calls you a foetus but I call you “my baby”. I call you Simone.

You are no foetus,you are a human being but they don’t know.

How can they? When they don’t feel what I feel.

 

………Baby Simone

A rumbling in my tummy……not hunger,not worms its Simone playing in her Duplex.

I lift my dress for a view when no one is looking and my face beam with joy at the sight of my stomach making waves like the Ocean.

I look around for who to share this awesome wonder with and realize its our secret. Baby Simone’s and mine.

The only other person who gets a sneak peek to our world is daddy but even he does not know the half of it. Only what Simone chooses to reveal when daddy is rubbing mummy’s tummy.

 

………..Baby Simone

A push against my stomach wall after hours of calm,a sight of one part of my stomach suddenly engorged than the others….
And I smile realizing Simone is awake and ready to play.
Its amazing how even in the womb, I know her waking and sleeping hours.
A wonder that my sleeping and resting time is Simone’s favorite playing time.
Her movements are rattling and beautiful at the same time and I wonder how much longer before I can hold this lithe being in my arms.
Its a privilege, a blessing to house this growing wonder in my body.
A beautiful privilege.
I am truly wonderfully and fearfully made.

 

……..Baby Simone
Why can I tell that you are so beautiful?

Perhaps because your movements are so graceful,firm,purposeful and yet strong.

My baby,you have a way of telling me

“mummy slow down I want us to rest”

You just start tapping my cervix with your legs or do you use your head?
I know you are beautiful ‘cos I dream of you all the time and ‘cos you have also made me beautiful.
I have never looked better;
A Ripe body,glowing skin,fuller breasts,bigger backside,fuller hair,a massive stomach that keeps everyone guessing whether I am carrying two or three.
But I know its just you Simone.

Simone……
I don’t know the day, but I know someday soon you will be in my arms.

That day I will cover your cute face with kisses and release you only so daddy could hold his darling.

From that day;
I promise to be your angel here on earth.
I promise to teach you the way of God.
I promise to love you with all of me.
My beautiful baby. You are a masterpiece,fashioned by the greatest sculptor of all times.
And my body was chosen to house you!
What a wonder.
I am indeed fearfully and wonderfully made and so is my baby Simone.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Isaacola AA
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 04:59:12

    The joy of motherhood, fatherhood and parenthood is undiscribeable! Beautiful….

    Reply

  2. adefunke62
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 05:05:10

    waoh, cant wait 2 feel mine, its beautiful, wishing u a safe delivery

    Reply

  3. Lizzieebunoluwa
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 05:16:14

    Awesome!!! I got an ineffable thrill out of this.

    God be with mother&baby!… Boy, is this baby blessed or what?

    Reply

  4. modupsneb
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 05:47:23

    I can really relate to this.pregnancies and childbirth!!!! All points to the wonders of God,and the fact that indeed, I am beautifully and wonderfully and infact fearfully made..beautiful work, and she says she aint a writer? When u love something,the best words to describe it comes readily to mind.

    Reply

  5. Lumitee
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 06:05:21

    It sure made me go Awwwwwwww and especially because right now I am looking forward to holding my little one too so I totally relate to this. God bless Simone and mommy.
    Nothing can be compared to the feeling, I feel blessed to experience it too. Thanks for sharing

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Baby Simone……by Anjola Olukoga – Y! Fiction
  7. Iyimoga Eli
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 08:21:55

    Beautifullu written. I pray God keeps both Simone and mummy. We doctors know a fetus ia a baby too and care about his/her well being.
    Toyinfab, i plead that you kindly check my blog and comment as it will mean a lot if i hear your views since you inspired me to start writting. Thank you

    Reply

  8. oscarpoems
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 08:58:46

    Wooooooow. I just love this.
    Already enough love and affection before baby comes.
    Already a strong bond, forged between the two-baby and mama
    Already a very wonderful friendship blossoming between two-the ‘carrier’ and the ‘carried’
    Peacefully shall Baby Simone arrive and have that positive impact on lives around her in Jesus name.

    Reply

  9. grace
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 10:27:56

    Oh….sure,d baby is over blessed!!!!!so much love radiating alredi.

    Reply

  10. Timiebix
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 13:09:45

    God bless and keep Simone and her family. Such love just keeps me hopeful 🙂 may this love continually grow strong.

    Reply

  11. oladunjoye Ife
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 13:47:08

    Awww..cc one..one of d things we were discussing in class 2day..is a foetus a child nd do they have rights..with dis I’m much more convinced dt a foetus is a child..God keep u nd ur baby ma’am..nd He’d provide all u need to care for him

    Reply

  12. Darlene
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 03:51:41

    Awwwwwww! Such wonderful feeling n it makes me miss being pregnant.

    Reply

  13. topazo
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 11:55:49

    the joy of motherhood…only a mother can understand. no wonders fathers always seems to be on the outside….the bond between mother and child…transcends time and space

    Reply

  14. Mz Greene
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 14:28:32

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww……am awed!!! great piece. God bless baby Simone and her momma. Wishing her safe delivery.

    Reply

  15. Clarion
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 21:52:38

    Awwwww, great that baby mama is so poetic. I wasn’t so sweet as a preggy. There were good times, but mostly I was just impatient to see my baby. 🙂 sweet post. Safe delivery babe, muah!

    Reply

  16. PJ
    May 01, 2014 @ 17:27:31

    Aaaaawwwwww. This is good, very good infact for someone who says she is not a writer. Enjoyed the story.

    Reply

  17. Oluwatobi Olowookere
    May 27, 2014 @ 16:46:25

    Yes she’s really no writer….she is a source of inspiration.

    Reply

  18. Heather
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 20:48:58

    Hi there! My name is Heather and I wanted to know if you would be willing to answer a quick question about your blog! My email is Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

    Reply

  19. tessadoghor
    Jun 27, 2014 @ 14:43:29

    Beautiful post…
    No one knows but the mom how much
    deep reflections!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Moskeda Lounge

Relax, Read, Chat and Maybe even Toast

One Word More

one word at a time

theinkheartblog

letting the ink tell the tales conceived in my mind.........

HaroldWrites

The Pen Whisperer

Malcolm's Blog

My vantage point laced with acerbic muse of experiences, events and people. I am responsible for what i write; not for what you understand. Welcome to my world...

Farafina Books

Telling Our Own Stories...

Kayode Faniyi

literature. life. guff.

Newnaija's Place

...a peep into the future...

Seun Odukoya

Your Stories. My Stories. Our Stories. Please forward all enquiries to seunodukoyaofficial@gmail.com.

Word_smith

Illusionist

Tobi Olowookere's blog

...that I may know Him

Untold Stories

'There Is No Greater Agony Than Bearing an Untold Story Inside You' ~ Maya Angelou

Ikhide

Father, Fighter, Lover

Nzesylva's Corner

A repository of my thoughts

Chris BAMIDELE

Scattered Thoughts, Opinions and African Stories.

soulcaste

...from Soul to Ink

OSCARPOEMS

Welcome to Oscarpoems blog, a combo of my musings and poetry

Deniz blog!

An imagined perfect place...

tlsplace

A Beautiful Mind

Iconsnest's Blog

Love. Culture. Food

